Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: QTparted problem

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default QTparted problem

    Hi ! I ran Backtrack 2 in VMware , but there isn't "QTParted" file in the menu.I tried strarting it by Konsole ,then it opened it,but also the following message appeared :

    ` Warning: Unable to open /dev/hdc read-write (Read-only file system). /dev/hdc has been opened read-only.`

    Can you help me ?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Thorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Green Dome
    Posts
    1,509

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dreamtouch View Post
    Hi ! I ran Backtrack 2 in VMware , but there isn't "QTParted" file in the menu.I tried strarting it by Konsole ,then it opened it,but also the following message appeared :

    ` Warning: Unable to open /dev/hdc read-write (Read-only file system). /dev/hdc has been opened read-only.`

    Can you help me ?
    QTParted is attempting to start on your /dev/hdc drive, which has been mounted as read-only disk. (It's probably the CD that you're running BT2 on, assuming that you're using the LiveCD.) Your probably want to start it like so:

    Code:
    # qparted /dev/hda
    That's assuming that you want to partition the hard drive /dev/hda. Otherwise you'll have to point it to the correct drive.
    Code:
    # fdisk -l
    (That's a lower-case "L") will list the hard drives on the machine.
    Thorn
    Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thanks for the answer! But here is my problem..it makes me mad :

    fdisk /dev/sda

    n
    p
    n
    <enter>
    <enter>
    w

    mkfs.ext3 /dev/sda1

    --------So far so good -----------

    mkswap /dev/sda2 -> "NO SUCH DEVICE OR ADDRESS"

    ..If you could help please

  4. #4
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dreamtouch View Post
    Thanks for the answer! But here is my problem..it makes me mad :

    fdisk /dev/sda

    n
    p
    n
    <enter>
    <enter>
    w

    mkfs.ext3 /dev/sda1

    --------So far so good -----------

    mkswap /dev/sda2 -> "NO SUCH DEVICE OR ADDRESS"

    ..If you could help please

    I don't see where you made a swap partition.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  5. #5
    Senior Member Thorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Green Dome
    Posts
    1,509

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dreamtouch View Post
    Thanks for the answer! But here is my problem..it makes me mad :

    fdisk /dev/sda

    n
    p
    n
    <enter>
    <enter>
    w

    mkfs.ext3 /dev/sda1

    --------So far so good -----------

    mkswap /dev/sda2 -> "NO SUCH DEVICE OR ADDRESS"

    ..If you could help please
    Quote Originally Posted by Barry View Post
    I don't see where you made a swap partition.
    Exactly.

    Dreamtouch, you need to make at least one other partition in addition to the first one, if you want to make a swap partition.


    fdisk /dev/sda

    new
    primary
    # 1
    [start cyl] - [end cyl] or [size]

    new
    primary
    # 2
    [start cyl] - [end cyl] or [size]

    Then set the "type". The first should already be "83" (Linux) but the second will have to be set to "82" (Linux Swap). Then you can do the mkfs and mkswap commands.

    This page may help:

    http://tldp.org/HOWTO/Partition/fdisk_partitioning.html

    One word of advice: Backtrack is an advance Linux distro, specifically designed for InfoSec work. It's pretty obvious that you're just cutting your teeth on this stuff, and it may be easier for you if you start off with a Linux distribution that's friendlier to a new user. I'd suggest Ubuntu.
    Thorn
    Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Actually the problem is that i haven't slept for 3 days..I simply had to burn the ISO to a CD,not to mount it with the Virtual Machine.After burning it , everything passed successfully.

    cout << "Thank you all" << endl;

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •