Thread: New to Back Track...and Linux in general...help appreciated

Just burned his ISO

Default New to Back Track...and Linux in general...help appreciated

Totally new to this Distro and in fact Linux in general....really want to dive into this and learn it though....I've been a pc tech for over 10 years and I just got Apple certified as a technician, but I've never even touched Linux....I researched many of the Distro's and it seems like Backtrack is the one I really want to learn inside and out....

I know it's gonna take some time cause I'm such a newbie, but I gotta start somewhere...anyone have any tips or references to point out that could help me?

I'm also going to be trying to learn Ubuntu....

Quote Originally Posted by cleverest View Post
    Totally new to this Distro and in fact Linux in general....really want to dive into this and learn it though....I've been a pc tech for over 10 years and I just got Apple certified as a technician, but I've never even touched Linux....I researched many of the Distro's and it seems like Backtrack is the one I really want to learn inside and out....

I know it's gonna take some time cause I'm such a newbie, but I gotta start somewhere...anyone have any tips or references to point out that could help me?

I'm also going to be trying to learn Ubuntu....
    Hi, nice to see you take a step towards linux.

If you haven't already please familiarize yourself with the forum rules because that's people's biggest mistake here.
    They don't RTFM

This is a good starting point in learning *nix .

You should use the command line as much as possible.
    The more you use it, the easier and more exciting Linux will become. Practice makes perfect, as we say.

Also, maybe you should start with Kubuntu instead of Ubuntu. The KDE desktop makes things a bit easier, especially in terms of menu structures etc. Backtrack comes with KDE as default so that's another reason to learn on Kubuntu.