Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Orinoco Gold Card

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    21

    Default Orinoco Gold Card

    Hey all,

    I know that not many other people can get Orinoco cards working, I've got mine in a PCIMA flavor so I can boot without it. Anyhow, I tried booting with it in and it stops booting at the detection of my touchpad. This seemed like a strange and illogical place for it to stop, but I rebooted and it was the same spot each time.

    I tried the drivers at nongnu.org/orinoco, but these seem to already be integrated.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Very good friend of the forum hhmatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    660

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bkbomber View Post
    Hey all,

    I know that not many other people can get Orinoco cards working, I've got mine in a PCIMA flavor so I can boot without it. Anyhow, I tried booting with it in and it stops booting at the detection of my touchpad. This seemed like a strange and illogical place for it to stop, but I rebooted and it was the same spot each time.

    I tried the drivers at nongnu.org/orinoco, but these seem to already be integrated.

    Any ideas?
    My orinoco gold works perfectly. Whats the exact model # and chipset?

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hhmatt81 View Post
    My orinoco gold works perfectly. Whats the exact model # and chipset?
    Well I'm not sure exactly how to get this. The card DOES work fine in BT2 if there's some way to find that stuff I could post it.

  4. #4
    Very good friend of the forum hhmatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    660

    Default

    Just look at the bottom of the card.

    I'm running BT3b but it works great in BT2 also.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    70

    Default

    I am running this card too.
    No problem at all under B|T2 & 3
    Fully supported "OutOfTheBox".

    @bkbomber: Did your already disabled your Touchpad in BIOS for a test? Give it a try when u think it depends from.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    916

    Default

    You lack providing more information:
    1) Is this 5V or 3.3V (it should be noted on the bottom side of the card)
    2) Does this show up on lspci?
    3) Have you tried using boot cheat codes (which are available from the backtrack wiki)

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hatake_kakashi View Post
    You lack providing more information:
    1) Is this 5V or 3.3V (it should be noted on the bottom side of the card)
    2) Does this show up on lspci?
    3) Have you tried using boot cheat codes (which are available from the backtrack wiki)
    I suppose I was asking what I needed to post, here ya go.

    It is a Buffalo AirStation WLI-PCM-L11G, and from my research I know that it IS based on some sort of Orinoco card chipset.
    And its a 5 volt.

    I can't use lspci in BT3 because it won't boot up with the card in, and instantly hangs if I try to add it after booting. I'll try it in BT2.

    I'll give boot cheats a try...

    Heres some pics for ya'll.

    img301.imageshack.us/my.php?image=image25dd5.jpg
    img142.imageshack.us/my.php?image=image20ms4.jpg
    img148.imageshack.us/my.php?image=image21vg5.jpg
    img301.imageshack.us/my.php?image=image15ya6.jpg
    img152.imageshack.us/my.php?image=image11yc1.jpg
    img259.imageshack.us/my.php?image=image8zh5.jpg
    img258.imageshack.us/my.php?image=image6ab0.jpg
    img444.imageshack.us/my.php?image=image5uj0.jpg
    img180.imageshack.us/my.php?image=image9mj9.jpg
    img410.imageshack.us/my.php?image=image1jq0.jpg

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Couldn't figure out how to boot into safe mode using EasyBCD, debug mode did NOTHING lol. It still glitches up when it tries to load my touchpad.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Well, this is getting me nowhere. I KNOW this is technically a general Linux question and that I should learn a simple distro before messing with BT. I'm sorry. I don't like to ride the short bus.

    Anyway, I was wondering where in BT2 I can find the Orinoco drivers, or if there is a previous driver I could download. Also if someone could (pretty, pretty please) tell me how to install these in BT3Beta. Is it possible that these drivers could interfere with the current madwifi drivers?

    P.S. I'm duplicate posting this in BT2 forums.

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Here are some Orinoco drivers from an overseas educational site.Seem like they also have the old Orinoco card manager files too.

    hxxp://wxx.ntu.edu.sg/cits/latest+deals+and++loan/wireless+lan+cards+for+loan/software+driver+download.htm#firmware

    Hope these help

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •