Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 49

Thread: BT3 Tutorial : Installing Nessus 3.2.0

  1. #11
    Good friend of the forums williamc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Chico CA
    Posts
    285

    Default

    Why don't you try it and let us know? Post here if you have problems and we'll try and figure it out.

    William

  2. #12
    Just burned his ISO Dinosaur_Eggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    have not had time to troubleshoot any farther but followed the same instructions here for bt2 final, ran nessus-mkcert:

    Code:
    bt lib # /opt/nessus/sbin/nessus-mkcert
    and was left with this error:

    /opt/nessus/sbin/nessus-mkcert: line 92: 13586 Floating point exception$sbindir/nessusd -g Executing nessusd failed. Make sure your library loader is configured properly and that nessusd is in your $PATH

  3. #13
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    5

    Default

    that is the exact error i got too. i would have posted it myself but, it was on my laptop and i posted with my other pc

    thanks for posting it

  4. #14
    Good friend of the forums williamc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Chico CA
    Posts
    285

    Default

    I think I may have found your problem. Do the following:

    Code:
     nano /etc/ld.so.conf
    add the following line:
    /opt/nessus/lib
    Ctrl-X to save. then run :
    Code:
     ldconfig
    nessus-mkcert

  5. #15
    Just burned his ISO Dinosaur_Eggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    thanks williamc but still a no go. same error occured:

    /opt/nessus/sbin/nessus-mkcert: line 92: 5623 Floating point exception$sbindir/nessusd -g Executing nessusd failed. Make sure your library loader is configured properly and that nessusd is in your $PATH

  6. #16
    Good friend of the forums williamc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Chico CA
    Posts
    285

    Default

    Can you provide the output of your ld.so.conf file and PATH?

    William

  7. #17
    Just burned his ISO Dinosaur_Eggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    ld.so.conf

    Code:
    /usr/local/lib
    /usr/X11R6/lib
    /usr/i486-slackware-linux/lib
    /usr/lib/qt/lib
    /usr/lib
    /opt/kde/lib
    /opt/oracle/instantclient_10_2
    /usr/lib/firefox
    /usr/local/apr/lib
    /usr/local/rrdtool-1.2.15/lib
    /usr/lib/java/lib
    /opt/nessus/lib
    /opt/firefox
    Code:
    bt etc # echo $PATH
    /usr/local/sbin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/local/apache/bin:/usr/local/pgsql/bin:/opt/mono/bin:/usr/local/pgsql/bin:/opt/nessus/bin:/opt/nessus/sbin:.:/usr/lib/java/bin:/opt/kde/bin

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    63

    Default

    I get a problem with connect to my localhost says bad credential, no idea how continue, i typed the credentials done with the command adduser also tried to check out the nessus server.conf file, im runnin a BT3 Live USB stick with save changes on a Toshiba Satellite PRO A-100,

    noticed when i ran the NessusClient command from console i get this message
    /opt/nessus/bin/NessusClient: /usr/lib/libpng12.so.0: no version information available (required by /opt/nessus/lib/libQtGui.so.4)

  9. #19
    Good friend of the forums williamc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Chico CA
    Posts
    285

    Default

    Dinosaur_Eggs, I'm at a loss. I would recommend either posting on the Nessus support page, or trying a live CD or USB stick and see if you get the same error message.

    johnjohnsp1, the bad credential error is usually due to you not setting the proper username and password within the client. Once you launch the client, you have to set the username and password within it to connect to the server.

    The libpng12 error is pretty standard. Google it and you'll see it has to do with the libpng package not having the version information in that file anymore.

    William

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    63

    Default

    Thk for the help william , i found th error on typin the credentials for the login server now fixed and workin good

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •