Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 49

Thread: BT3 Tutorial : Installing Nessus 3.2.0

  1. #1
    Good friend of the forums williamc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Chico CA
    Posts
    285

    Default BT3 Tutorial : Installing Nessus 3.2.0

    I recently installed Nessus 3.2.0 in Backtrack 3. Here are the steps necessary to get it working. Most are identical to the 3.0.6 install guide at:
    http://backtrack.offensive-security....Install_Nessus

    Download the Fedora Core 8 RPM's from:
    http://www.nessus.org/download/index...=nessus3-linux
    Nessus-3.2.0-fc8.i386.rpm
    NessusClient-3.2.0-fc8.i386.rpm

    Convert to TGZ :
    Code:
     
    rpm2tgz Nessus-3.2.0-fc8.i386.rpm
    rpm2tgz NessusClient-3.2.0-fc8.i386.rpm
    Use the Slackware Package Tool to extract:
    Code:
     pkgtool
    Install packages from the current directory
    Choose both Nessus-3.2.0-fc8.i386.tgz and NessusClient-3.2.0-fc8.i386.tgz

    Now, configure the application:
    Code:
    cd /opt/
    export PATH=$PATH:/opt/nessus/sbin:/opt/nessus/bin:
    cp /usr/lib/libssl.so /lib
    cp /usr/lib/libcrypto.so /lib
    
    cp /opt/nessus/lib/libnessus.so.3 /lib
    cp /opt/nessus/lib/libnessusrx.so.0 /lib
    cp /opt/nessus/lib/libpcap-nessus.so.3 /lib
    
    cd /lib
    ln libssl.so libssl.so.6
    ln libcrypto.so libcrypto.so.6
    
    nano /etc/ld.so.conf
    /opt/nessus/lib         #add this line to the config file
    ldconfig
    
    /opt/nessus/sbin/nessus-mkcert
    /opt/nessus/sbin/nessus-adduser
    This should get Nessus installed. Now, update your plugins. Make use you registered at the Nessus website. Use the code they emailed to you below.
    Code:
     
    cd /opt/nessus/etc/nessus
    nessus-fetch --register XXX-YYY-ZZZ-VVV
    Run the Nessus Server:
    Code:
     /opt/nessus/sbin/nessusd
    Launch the Client:
    Code:
     /opt/nessus/bin/NessusClient
    If you find any problems with the above tutorial, let me know so I can edit it. Thanks.

    William

  2. #2

    Default

    /opt/nessus/nessusd

    should be

    /opt/nessus/nessusd &

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    13

    Default

    could you be a bit more specific cant find what you said needs to change sry

  4. #4
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    Code:
    Nessus-Client
    should be
    Code:
    NessusClient
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

  5. #5
    Good friend of the forums
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    outside chicago, il
    Posts
    442

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gromeo View Post
    /opt/nessus/nessusd

    should be

    /opt/nessus/nessusd &
    Shouldn't it really be
    /opt/nessus/nessusd -D
    I like the bleeding edge, but I don't like blood loss

  6. #6
    Good friend of the forums williamc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Chico CA
    Posts
    285

    Default

    My nessusd is in /opt/nessus/sbin

    If you launch nessusd without any options, it can be killed once your done with the client by Ctrl-Z. However, if you do the -D then you have to:
    Code:
     ps aux | grep nessus
    kill PID
    You are correct about the NessusClient, not Nessus-Client. I've fixed it in the first post. Thanks!

    William

  7. #7
    Good friend of the forums
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    outside chicago, il
    Posts
    442

    Default

    Thank you for that bit of information.
    I like the bleeding edge, but I don't like blood loss

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    229

    Default

    rpm2tgz nessus-3.2.0.... is running for a while and making a huge file. Shouldn't the tar be about the same size as the RPM?

  9. #9
    Good friend of the forums williamc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Chico CA
    Posts
    285

    Default

    relative to the rpm in size. You may have a corrupt rpm.

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    5

    Default

    does anyone know whether these instructions work for bt2final?

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •