Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: backtrack4 final kismet problem

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default backtrack4 final kismet problem

    I have kismet up and running, I can see the APs but for some reason I can not use tab or the up, down airows to navigate to select the AP I want information on ? (almost forgot VM WARE) Anyone else have this problem or know what I am doing wrong.
    I read the readme, and did not see anything that I am missing.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: backtrack4 final kismet problem

    Quote Originally Posted by 3xtract3d View Post
    I have kismet up and running, I can see the APs but for some reason I can not use tab or the up, down airows to navigate to select the AP I want information on ? (almost forgot VM WARE) Anyone else have this problem or know what I am doing wrong.
    I read the readme, and did not see anything that I am missing.
    Try reading the forums on the kismet site.
    As well as the documentation page.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: backtrack4 final kismet problem

    Just thought I would add, for the people that experenced the same issue I did, and Did not see in any "documentation" what is going on with this. Make sure you organize the list by something other then auto. Fixes the issue.
    Last edited by 3xtract3d; 02-20-2010 at 07:45 PM.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: backtrack4 final kismet problem

    Well then you did not read the correct documentation or you did not understand it. To wit:
    14. Kismet UI

    The Kismet UI functions much as any other curses application (such as
    Midnight Commander or Links) does. The menu is activated with 'escape',
    '`' or '~'. Navigation between elements of the UI is done with 'tab'.

    Use of a mouse is supported in much of the Kismet UI, although not all
    widgets fully support mouse operation. Basic use of the UI with no
    keyboard should be reasonable, however.
    Just a small snippet of section 14 of said documentation.

    Also pertinent to your situation would be:
    Kismet menus support shortcuts, for example '~Wl' is the same as
    navigating to the 'Windows->Client List' menu option.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: backtrack4 final kismet problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Archangel.Amael View Post
    Well then you did not read the correct documentation or you did not understand it. To wit:
    14. Kismet UI



    Just a small snippet of section 14 of said documentation.

    Also pertinent to your situation would be:

    and where does that say anything about not being able to browse the access points until you organize them by something other then auto ??

Similar Threads

  1. kismet oldcore to bt4 final
    By halfdone in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-22-2010, 05:09 PM
  2. Serious problems with install of Backtrack4-final
    By erazzor in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-19-2010, 06:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •