Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Atheros Wifi dont work on monitor mode

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2

    Default Atheros Wifi dont work on monitor mode

    bt ~ # iwconfig ath0 mode monitor
    Error for wireless request "Set Mode" (8B06):
    SET failed on device ath0 ;
    Invalid argument.
    is there any solutions for this ?

    -
    BTW, already tried:

    Have you tried setting it to monitor a specific channel?
    iwconfig ath0 mode Monitor channel 6
    ok, how about trying to lock the card into a specific mode first:
    iwpriv ath0 mode 2
    try the airmon-ng script

    airmon-ng start wifi0
    then try to set ath1 in monitor mode

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    204

    Default

    user error, atheros works.

    try airmon-ng stop ath0
    then
    airmon-ng start wifi0


    that should create a vap as ath0 in monitor mode.

    use iwconfig to check, setting the vaps manually in iwconfig doesnt work, use airmon-ng for this.

  3. #3

    Default

    Atheros doesn't work with iwconfig.
    See http://n00bhacker.blogspot.com/2008/...ards-into.html .

    You use wlanconfig as explained on that page.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by abitaz View Post
    Atheros doesn't work with iwconfig.
    See http://n00bhacker.blogspot.com/2008/...ards-into.html You use wlanconfig as explained on that page.
    QUOTED FROM YOUR LINK As I have explained, I do not have an atheros card, and therefore I cannot guarantee the accuracy of what I am about to write.But here goes:
    The Atrheros cards use a driver called MADWIFI (Multiband Atheros Driver for WIFI). T

    Type : iwconfig

    You will see your card as ath0 in manged mode. In order to stop that VAP we must use a utility call wlanconfig.

    But you also state that atheros cards do not use iwconfig?
    This is new.

    Iwconfig is a command to configure a wireless network interface
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by archangel.amael View Post
    But you also state that atheros cards do not use iwconfig?
    This is new.

    Iwconfig is a command to configure a wireless network interface
    What I meant is that atheros does not not use iwconfig to alter the status of the card, like up down or mode.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by abitaz View Post
    What I meant is that atheros does not not use iwconfig to alter the status of the card, like or mode.
    You still have not posted relevant and correct information to the op
    the original was as follows:
    bt ~ # iwconfig ath0 mode monitor
    Error for wireless request "Set Mode" (8B06):
    SET failed on device ath0 ;
    Invalid argument.
    is there any solutions for this ?
    Now if I take a look at a shell and type the following:
    Code:
    bt ~ # iwconfig --help
    Usage: iwconfig interface [essid {NN|on|off}]
                              [nwid {NN|on|off}]
                              [mode {managed|ad-hoc|...}
    Truncated for clarity

    So once again it seems that you do not know what you are talking about here.

    Something valid for the op would have been to tell the person to search and provide a link or two maybe or to use the provided help in bt see below.
    Code:
    #man iwconfig 
    #iwconfig--help
    Or http://www.google.com
    or
    http://www.wirelessdefence.org/Conte...ssCommands.htm
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  7. #7

    Default

    Wow, sorry for getting you upset. I believe I gave him quite relevant information. He got an error trying to put his Atheros card into monitor mode. So all I did was tell him that iwconfig will NOT work to put an Atheros card into monitor mode. You must use wlanconfig to accomplish that. iwconfig will give you the status of an Atheros card, but it will not put it up or down or put it into managed or monitor mode. I still believe I am correct in what I say. If not, I really apologize.


    Quote Originally Posted by archangel.amael View Post
    You still have not posted relevant and correct information to the op
    the original was as follows:

    Now if I take a look at a shell and type the following:
    Code:
    bt ~ # iwconfig --help
    Usage: iwconfig interface [essid {NN|on|off}]
                              [nwid {NN|on|off}]
                              [mode {managed|ad-hoc|...}
    Truncated for clarity

    So once again it seems that you do not know what you are talking about here.

    Something valid for the op would have been to tell the person to search and provide a link or two maybe or to use the provided help in bt see below.
    Code:
    #man iwconfig 
    #iwconfig--help
    Or http://www.google.com
    or
    http://www.wirelessdefence.org/Conte...ssCommands.htm

  8. #8
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default

    Lets not get this thread closed over a argument. Really if you look at the OP the guy claims he tried airmon-ng. Since we all know that works I think we can narrow it down to user error.

  9. #9

    Default I am humbled

    I am humbled and I apologize.



  10. #10
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default

    No need to apologize. I'm merely suggesting you are both right and the the OP is doing something wrong. Also I'm trying to keep the thread on topic rather than turn in to a debate about the best way to skin a cat. We all know there are multiple ways to skin a cat as long as you use linux to do it and not windows

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •