Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: zd1211rw seeing but not connecting

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default zd1211rw seeing but not connecting

    Technically I am still a newbie.. but have installed bt3 to hdd with dual boot xp with persistant changes so am a fast learner
    After numerous different wl adapters (most got wet when it rained!!) I now have a Planet wl-u356a with zydas chipset.
    Initially it would not work but after following many words of wisdom from many contributers on this forumI got the thing to partially work??!!!
    I have installed zd1211rw drivers(although i read it should be already included in kernel 2.6.21.5 and copied firmware to /lib/firmware/zd1211.
    Now only needs to ifconfig eth1 up after boot and it seemed to work
    I then changed /usr/local/etc/kismet.conf accordingly and kismet works...?
    Found my AP and client mac's
    Closed Kismet
    iwconfig eth1 mode managed
    start wireless assistant to connect to AP
    wireless assistant detects AP's I try to connect but connection failure every time. Signal strength 30 according to kismet.

    Same location win xp does connect? so i don't believe it to be a signal issue

    I Borrowed a smc usb ez connect wlan adapter from a mate...ironically the same chipset... it does exactly the same thing ...?sees but wont connect.

    OK Have I forgotten to config something?

    Previously a rt2500 did not have any og these problems (shame about the rain).

    I still have not yet updated my kernel. Maybe this will be my next step..unless one of you guys can help me.

    Any help in giving me some tips to trace the problem would be greatly appreciated.

    lsmod reports;
    bt zdsta # lsmod
    Module Size Used by
    arc4 5888 0
    ecb 6656 0
    ieee80211_crypt_wep 8064 0
    zd1211b 251064 0
    zd1211rw 48772 0
    ieee80211softmac 29952 1 zd1211rw
    ieee80211 33992 2 zd1211rw,ieee80211softmac
    ieee80211_crypt 8576 2 ieee80211_crypt_wep,ieee80211
    radeon 125472 2
    drm 74516 3 radeon
    snd_seq_dummy 6660 0
    snd_seq_oss 32768 0
    snd_seq_midi_event 10112 1 snd_seq_oss
    snd_seq 49872 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
    snd_seq_device 10508 3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
    snd_pcm_oss 42656 0
    snd_mixer_oss 17920 1 snd_pcm_oss
    capability 7304 0
    commoncap 9344 1 capability
    fuse 41876 2
    lp 13864 0
    parport_pc 27940 0
    parport 34888 2 lp,parport_pc
    pcspkr 6400 0
    psmouse 38792 0
    pcmcia 35244 0
    serio_raw 9220 0
    yenta_socket 27276 2
    tg3 107396 0
    rsrc_nonstatic 14848 1 yenta_socket
    pcmcia_core 36628 3 pcmcia,yenta_socket,rsrc_nonstatic
    snd_intel8x0 32412 0
    snd_ac97_codec 100516 1 snd_intel8x0
    ac97_bus 6016 1 snd_ac97_codec
    snd_pcm 71428 3 snd_pcm_oss,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec
    snd_timer 22276 2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
    snd 46692 9 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd _mixer_oss,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd _timer
    intel_agp 25500 1
    soundcore 9824 1 snd
    iTCO_wdt 12964 0
    iTCO_vendor_support 7172 1 iTCO_wdt
    agpgart 31304 2 drm,intel_agp
    i2c_i801 11536 0
    snd_page_alloc 11400 2 snd_intel8x0,snd_pcm
    shpchp 33300 0
    ata_generic 9220 0
    evdev 12032 4
    aufs 106372 1
    squashfs 48388 16
    sqlzma 6916 1 squashfs
    unlzma 8576 1 sqlzma

    lsusb reports
    Bus 1 Device 2: ID 083a:4505 Accton Technology Corp. SMCWUSB-G
    Bus 1 Device 1: ID 0000:0000
    Bus 4 Device 1: ID 0000:0000
    Bus 3 Device 1: ID 0000:0000
    Bus 2 Device 1: ID 0000:0000

    ifconfig reports
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:11:85:85:2E:C0
    inet addr:192.168.1.4 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:8347 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:1
    TX packets:8144 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:4433739 (4.2 MiB) TX bytes:1920002 (1.8 MiB)
    Interrupt:11

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:13:F7:2D:B8:B0
    inet addr:192.168.0.199 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS PROMISC MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:5715 errors:114552 dropped:53 overruns:0 frame:114498
    TX packets:471 errors:32 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:679409 (663.4 KiB) TX bytes:26832 (26.2 KiB)

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:1106 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:1106 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:228677 (223.3 KiB) TX bytes:228677 (223.3 KiB)
    iwconfig reports
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    eth1 IEEE 802.11b/g ESSIDff/any Nickname:"zd1211"
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.437 GHz Access Point: Invalid
    Bit Rate=1 Mb/s
    Encryption keyff
    Link Quality=9/100 Signal level=6/100
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0


    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    681

    Default

    Wireless Assistant sucks in any body's opinion. You should use command line.
    [FONT=Courier New][SIZE=2][FONT=Courier New]hehe...
    [/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

  3. #3
    Very good friend of the forum killadaninja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    London, United Kingdom.
    Posts
    526

    Default

    put your card in master mode make sure its up first
    ifconfig adadpter up
    ifconfig adapter mode master
    -ninja
    Sometimes I try to fit a 16-character string into an 8–byte space, on purpose.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    218

    Default

    On some cards when you come out of monitor mode if downs the interface.

    Try bringing the interface up again before using the wireless assistant.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thanks for your efforts guys.
    I found the soloution was to assign an IP address to my adapter.. hey presto I can now connect.
    Although I agree with your comment about wlan assistant as mine crashes frequently
    Would you be kind enough to offer command line alternatives?
    Am familiure with iwevent iwlist

    Thanks to everyone

  6. #6
    Very good friend of the forum killadaninja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    London, United Kingdom.
    Posts
    526

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rockhopper View Post
    Thanks for your efforts guys.
    I found the soloution was to assign an IP address to my adapter.. hey presto I can now connect.
    Although I agree with your comment about wlan assistant as mine crashes frequently
    Would you be kind enough to offer command line alternatives?
    Am familiure with iwevent iwlist

    Thanks to everyone
    i believe the crash of the wireless assistant is usually due to too many processes on the card e.g using eteercap airodump if your using wireless assitant just to connect i dont think youll have a problem
    Sometimes I try to fit a 16-character string into an 8–byte space, on purpose.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •