Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: [linux newbie] Networking Issues

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default [linux newbie] Networking Issues

    Ok, I'm booting from livecd, backtrack isnt the first I've used but I'm still clueless when it comes to Linux.

    My problem: Connecting to my network!

    As far as I can tell, my wireless adapter is being seen when I use the iwconfig command, and I have set the ESSID, IP/DNS, WEP Key, channel on this adapter (- eth1). When I search for my wireless network however, I'm not finding anything.

    I have a feeling I'm missing out on something pretty simple here but being completely new to linux I'm not sure what to try! I spent a while trying to sort things out but I'm just stabbing in the dark.

    hxxp://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg119/stevieshannon/snapshot2.png

    EDIT: I'm getting SIOCSIFFLAGS errors telling me there is no such device when I try ifconfig eth1 up

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Your eth1 adapter is in monitor mode (it cant connect to networks unless its on managed mode).

    Try this command and tell me if you can connect now.

    airmon-ng stop eth1

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sagan View Post
    Your eth1 adapter is in monitor mode (it cant connect to networks unless its on managed mode).

    Try this command and tell me if you can connect now.
    Surely it would still see networks? Anyway, I did try this and it hasn't seemed to work for me =(

    hxxp://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg119/stevieshannon/snapshot5.png

    Any ideas?

  4. #4
    Junior Member DEAGLE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    25

    Default

    im having the same problem but my card is not in monitor mode. i habve been trying to fix this for days, im using a hp pavillion dv6000 with a bcm 43xx(4311 to b exact). i know this card is not well supported but some can get injection working so i dont c y i cant even connect to my own ap i even taken encryption off. here is the commands i typed


    bt ~ # ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:00:6CA:6C:46
    inet addr:192.168.0.6 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:835 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:735 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:824824 (805.4 KiB) TX bytes:99817 (97.4 KiB)
    Interrupt:19

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:00:00:1A:73:63
    UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    Interrupt:10 Base address:0x8000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

    bt ~ # iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    eth1 IEEE 802.11b/g ESSIDff/any Nickname:"Broadcom 4311"
    Mode:Managed Frequency=2.437 GHz Access Point: Invalid
    Bit Rate=1 Mb/s Tx-Power=18 dBm
    RTS thrff Fragment thrff
    Encryption keyff
    Link Quality=0/100 Signal level=-256 dBm Noise level=-256 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    bt ~ # iwconfig eth1 essid SKY50023
    bt ~ # iwconfig eth1 channel 11
    bt ~ # iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    eth1 IEEE 802.11b/g ESSID:"SKY50023" Nickname:"Broadcom 4311"
    Mode:Managed Frequency=2.472 GHz Access Point: Invalid
    Bit Rate=1 Mb/s Tx-Power=18 dBm
    RTS thrff Fragment thrff
    Encryption keyff
    Link Quality=0/100 Signal level=-256 dBm Noise level=-256 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0



    i cant even use the wifi manager, it recognises my card, the speed and im trying to find SKY50023 but it cant find it

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Also:

    iwlist eth1 scan

    Gives:

    eth Interface doesn't support scanning : No such device

  6. #6
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    Are you using BT2 or BT3 Beta?

    Did you try the wireless assistant?
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    681

    Default

    That kwifimanager sucks. Use kismet or airmon-ng to see your network.

    Is your card a Broadcom because that could be a major problem?

    What wireless card do you have? have you checked the wiki for compatibility?

    Wireless Card Compatibility
    [FONT=Courier New][SIZE=2][FONT=Courier New]hehe...
    [/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Im using BT3; I have tried Wireless Assistant; My wireless adapter is a Broadcome 4311 - which is in the list of working adapters and I think I did give airmon-ng a try, but I'll try again just to make sure!

    Thanks for the help!

  9. #9
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    If BackTrack is your first introduction to Linux, you can expect to have a lot more issues beyond connecting to your own wireless network.
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

  10. #10
    Junior Member DEAGLE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by theprez98 View Post
    If BackTrack is your first introduction to Linux, you can expect to have a lot more issues beyond connecting to your own wireless network.
    actualy ive deleted vista off my computer and im using backtrack and ubuntu on a dual boot. my ubuntu is working fine with ndiswrapper but as u must know you cant inject packets with ndiswrapper. people on this forum have reported getting this card working. and yea we know were gona have some problems thats y we are here, to learn. im shure you wasnt born with the knowladge of linux commands in your head. if you dont know how to fix the the problem dont bother come to the *NEWBE* ares just to discourage people from learning somthing new

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •