Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: [linux newbie] Networking Issues

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default [linux newbie] Networking Issues

    Ok, I'm booting from livecd, backtrack isnt the first I've used but I'm still clueless when it comes to Linux.

    My problem: Connecting to my network!

    As far as I can tell, my wireless adapter is being seen when I use the iwconfig command, and I have set the ESSID, IP/DNS, WEP Key, channel on this adapter (- eth1). When I search for my wireless network however, I'm not finding anything.

    I have a feeling I'm missing out on something pretty simple here but being completely new to linux I'm not sure what to try! I spent a while trying to sort things out but I'm just stabbing in the dark.

    hxxp://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg119/stevieshannon/snapshot2.png

    EDIT: I'm getting SIOCSIFFLAGS errors telling me there is no such device when I try ifconfig eth1 up

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Your eth1 adapter is in monitor mode (it cant connect to networks unless its on managed mode).

    Try this command and tell me if you can connect now.

    airmon-ng stop eth1

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sagan View Post
    Your eth1 adapter is in monitor mode (it cant connect to networks unless its on managed mode).

    Try this command and tell me if you can connect now.
    Surely it would still see networks? Anyway, I did try this and it hasn't seemed to work for me =(

    hxxp://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg119/stevieshannon/snapshot5.png

    Any ideas?

  4. #4
    Junior Member DEAGLE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    25

    Default

    im having the same problem but my card is not in monitor mode. i habve been trying to fix this for days, im using a hp pavillion dv6000 with a bcm 43xx(4311 to b exact). i know this card is not well supported but some can get injection working so i dont c y i cant even connect to my own ap i even taken encryption off. here is the commands i typed


    bt ~ # ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:00:6CA:6C:46
    inet addr:192.168.0.6 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:835 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:735 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:824824 (805.4 KiB) TX bytes:99817 (97.4 KiB)
    Interrupt:19

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:00:00:1A:73:63
    UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    Interrupt:10 Base address:0x8000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

    bt ~ # iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    eth1 IEEE 802.11b/g ESSIDff/any Nickname:"Broadcom 4311"
    Mode:Managed Frequency=2.437 GHz Access Point: Invalid
    Bit Rate=1 Mb/s Tx-Power=18 dBm
    RTS thrff Fragment thrff
    Encryption keyff
    Link Quality=0/100 Signal level=-256 dBm Noise level=-256 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    bt ~ # iwconfig eth1 essid SKY50023
    bt ~ # iwconfig eth1 channel 11
    bt ~ # iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    eth1 IEEE 802.11b/g ESSID:"SKY50023" Nickname:"Broadcom 4311"
    Mode:Managed Frequency=2.472 GHz Access Point: Invalid
    Bit Rate=1 Mb/s Tx-Power=18 dBm
    RTS thrff Fragment thrff
    Encryption keyff
    Link Quality=0/100 Signal level=-256 dBm Noise level=-256 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0



    i cant even use the wifi manager, it recognises my card, the speed and im trying to find SKY50023 but it cant find it

  5. #5
    Member wick86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    113

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DEAGLE View Post
    im having the same problem but my card is not in monitor mode. i habve been trying to fix this for days, im using a hp pavillion dv6000 with a bcm 43xx(4311 to b exact). i know this card is not well supported but some can get injection working so i dont c y i cant even connect to my own ap i even taken encryption off. here is the commands i typed


    bt ~ # ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:00:6CA:6C:46
    inet addr:192.168.0.6 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:835 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:735 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:824824 (805.4 KiB) TX bytes:99817 (97.4 KiB)
    Interrupt:19

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:00:00:1A:73:63
    UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    Interrupt:10 Base address:0x8000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

    bt ~ # iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    eth1 IEEE 802.11b/g ESSIDff/any Nickname:"Broadcom 4311"
    Mode:Managed Frequency=2.437 GHz Access Point: Invalid
    Bit Rate=1 Mb/s Tx-Power=18 dBm
    RTS thrff Fragment thrff
    Encryption keyff
    Link Quality=0/100 Signal level=-256 dBm Noise level=-256 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    bt ~ # iwconfig eth1 essid SKY50023
    bt ~ # iwconfig eth1 channel 11
    bt ~ # iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    eth1 IEEE 802.11b/g ESSID:"SKY50023" Nickname:"Broadcom 4311"
    Mode:Managed Frequency=2.472 GHz Access Point: Invalid
    Bit Rate=1 Mb/s Tx-Power=18 dBm
    RTS thrff Fragment thrff
    Encryption keyff
    Link Quality=0/100 Signal level=-256 dBm Noise level=-256 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0



    i cant even use the wifi manager, it recognises my card, the speed and im trying to find SKY50023 but it cant find it
    Wow I must be the luckiest Broadcom owner ever I have 2 of them (4311 and 4318) and I have not had any problems with ether of them. looking at your commands the first thing you need to do is run
    Code:
    ifconfig eth1 up
    then configure your wireless card in the command line like lonewolf said the wifi managers suck dont use them. and a note to all newbies to linux learn the command line in fact I found the best way to learn it is to install a distro without a GUI and force your self to learn the shell.

  6. #6
    Junior Member DEAGLE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Wow I must be the luckiest Broadcom owner ever I have 2 of them (4311 and 4318) and I have not had any problems with ether of them. looking at your commands the first thing you need to do is run
    Code:

    ifconfig eth1 up

    then configure your wireless card in the command line like lonewolf said the wifi managers suck dont use them. and a note to all newbies to linux learn the command line in fact I found the best way to learn it is to install a distro without a GUI and force your self to learn the shell.



    i totaly agree with you i only tryed to use the wifi manager after i wasnt able to get the card working, thanks for the advice but eth1 is up. wen you type ifconfig it shows the devices that are up, if i could only c my loopback or the loop back and the wired connection then you need to bring it up
    Ubuntu/backtrack 3 - HP pavilion DV6000

  7. #7
    Very good friend of the forum killadaninja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    London, United Kingdom.
    Posts
    526

    Default

    time and time again i say put your card into master mode
    iwconfig adapter mode master after putting ur adapter up that is
    -ninja
    Sometimes I try to fit a 16-character string into an 8–byte space, on purpose.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Ok, again I done everything in command line. I set the adapter "up" and put it to "master" mode, took it off monitor mode, set the correct essid, encryption key, etc and then used the command iwlist eth1 scan which returned:

    eth1 interface doesnt support scanning : no such device

    However, when I use iwconfig I can see clearly that adapter eth1 is up, on master mode and has all other settings set correctly.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks!

  9. #9
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    Are you using BT2 or BT3 Beta?

    Did you try the wireless assistant?
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    681

    Default

    That kwifimanager sucks. Use kismet or airmon-ng to see your network.

    Is your card a Broadcom because that could be a major problem?

    What wireless card do you have? have you checked the wiki for compatibility?

    Wireless Card Compatibility
    [FONT=Courier New][SIZE=2][FONT=Courier New]hehe...
    [/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •