Thread: Kismet and my headache.

Just burned his ISO

Exclamation Kismet and my headache.

OK heres the deal. I'm fairly new to Linux and I have been attempting to boot kismet.

The problem is every time I load up my console and type in kismet I get the following error message.

Launching kismet_server: /usr/local/bin/kismet_server
    Suid priv-dropping disabled. This may not be secure.
    No specific sources given to be enabled, all will be enabled.
    Non-RFMon VAPs will be destroyed on multi-vap interfaces (ie, madwifi-ng)
    Enabling channel hopping.
    Enabling channel splitting.
    FATAL: No packsources were enabled. Make sure that if you use an enablesource line that you specify the correct sources.
    Done.

I have literally been up for 4 hours trying to resolve this issue. Like I said I'm FAIRLY new to Linux and am having trouble editing the conf scripts.

If anyone has the solution to this I will be eternally in your debt!!

I would really appreciate any input or pointers on where im going wrong

I'm using an Atheros AR5005G Wireless Network Adapter card which seems to be working fine with backtrack 2 as I'm currently using the OS to write you this message.

Once again thanks to anyone who can help me.

Monica

PS. i know there are 2 similar thread with this same problem, i searched.... but I didnt find the solution

Developer

Hi monica, Welcome to the forums.

I'm in a good mood this morning and I will skip the usual new member hazing. I will tell you that normally a little more searching on your part would be best before posing a simple question such as this. I only say this because it has been covered at least 20 times just this year. So first off, reading some documentation on kismet would probably be good. That can be found here

Secondly what you need is to tell kismet your wireless card (source). This is done by editing the kismet config like this

bt~#nano /usr/local/etc/kismet.conf
    Go down a bit till you find this part....
    Code: