Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Help! Can't get KDE back :(

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    229

    Default Help! Can't get KDE back :(

    I tried running fluxbox as my window manager to see the difference on my HD install, but it modified something on my system and now it starts by default. The command startkde doesn't work - it can't find the x display. xinit and startx both start flux, and i can start kde from within, but then i lose stuff like the net connection icon which goes to the flux win manager instead of kde.

    I checked in x11 xorg.conf, couldn't find flux or kde.... could someone help me out at tell me how linux decides which window manager is the default and how to change it back? Thanks

  2. #2
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default

    The relevant file to autostart is ....

    nano /etc/inittab

    change the following line:

    id:3:initdefault:

    to

    id:4:initdefault:

    Or choose whichever number corresponds with what you want to do. I'm not sure if that will solve your problem but there is the file like you asked.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    229

    Default

    thanks hate, will try soon as i get home.

  4. #4
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    After you log in but before you start your window manager:

    grep fluxbox .xinitrc
    If it shows a reference to fluxbox
    rm .xinitrc
    startx

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    229

    Default

    Thx Parrot - worked like a charm

  6. #6
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    Nice to hear, glad you reported back that it solved the problem.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    229

    Default

    Should i toss up a post in bugs+fixes? I'm sure i'm not the only one curious enough to push the red button not labled "do not push"

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    56

    Default

    I had the same problem. Tried both ways. Now default KDE desktop is available.
    Thanks
    [FONT="System"][COLOR="DarkSlateBlue"][B]I am not arrogant, just better than you.[/B][/COLOR][/FONT]

  9. #9
    Junior Member NoobBiscUiT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    58

    Default

    worked perfect, thanks BP

  10. #10
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    Your all welcome

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •