Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: need a little help with broadcom 4318 driver

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default need a little help with broadcom 4318 driver

    guys i am trying to get familer with back track but can not get it to reconize my wireless card..when i i run my live cd it says no wifi card, but loads the bcm43xx driver in start up.. if i run lspci it shows my wireless card as a broadcom bcm4318 [air force one 54g] but if i run iwconfig it says

    lo no wireless extensions
    eth0 iee802.11b/g essid off/any nickaname broadcom 4318
    mode managed frequency=2.437 ghz access point invalid
    bit rate-1mb/s
    rts thrff fragment thrff
    encyrpff
    l ink quality=0/100 signal level=256db noise level=-256 dbm
    rx invalid:0 rx invalid crypt:0 rx invalid frag:0
    tx excessive retries:0 invalid misc:0 missed beacon:0
    eth1 no wirless extensions
    any ideas... thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rdt1999 View Post
    guys i am trying to get familer with back track but can not get it to reconize my wireless card..when i i run my live cd it says no wifi card, but loads the bcm43xx driver in start up.. if i run lspci it shows my wireless card as a broadcom bcm4318 [air force one 54g] but if i run iwconfig it says

    lo no wireless extensions
    eth0 iee802.11b/g essid off/any nickaname broadcom 4318
    mode managed frequency=2.437 ghz access point invalid
    bit rate-1mb/s
    rts thrff fragment thrff
    encyrpff
    l ink quality=0/100 signal level=256db noise level=-256 dbm
    rx invalid:0 rx invalid crypt:0 rx invalid frag:0
    tx excessive retries:0 invalid misc:0 missed beacon:0
    eth1 no wirless extensions
    any ideas... thanks
    Its recognizing it right here>>
    Code:
    eth0 iee802.11b/g essid off/any nickaname broadcom 4318
    do....
    Code:
    ifconfig eth0
    iwconfig eth0
    to verify.

    eth0 IS your Broadcom.


    What EXACTLY are you trying to do?? >>> Connect to the internet?? Or go into monitor mode?

    Best to buy a fully supported Atheros chipped card / mini PCMCIA Express..or the alfa 500MW USB device.


    Hope my advice has helped you.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default

    when i look at it it shows no accesspoint with the iwconfig... but injection works everything works perfect i was going by tut on aircrack website but i got it working good now...thanks for the reply... i will probaly buy a different card cause the broadcom doesnt have very good range...now i just gotta figure out wpapsk

  4. #4
    Member wick86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    113

    Default

    I have the very same card and have no problems you should check out xatar's post
    just serch "Howto: Configure Network Cards 2". The card even works with packet injection after you install the patch for it.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default

    thanks i will check it out

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    What commands are you using to try to connect with your AP??

    Please list ALL commands EXACTLY from log-on.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default

    i am connecting perfect now... the only thing is when i type iwconfig nothing is ther in ap but when i do the injection test coem back 88 to 100 percent everytime and am able to get wep key...this is my home so i am very close to router but if i go about 20 feet from router i get no link between the two...

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default

    i have everything running but was wondering g how long does it take to crack a wpa connection... i have been running for 45+ mins... which i read it could take up to 2 days.. but just wanted to know if there was a faster way

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rdt1999 View Post
    i have everything running but was wondering g how long does it take to crack a wpa connection... i have been running for 45+ mins... which i read it could take up to 2 days.. but just wanted to know if there was a faster way
    How long for cracking WPA??

    Depends if the word is in your dictionary or not. It could take 2 months depending upon the size of your dictionary. And even then it will be 2 months wasted if the password is NOT in your dictionary.

    See the links in my signature?? Theres an alternate way to speed up the cracking process in my video volume 4...but making the databases is TIME CONSUMING with large password files. But at the speed it can crack its tremendously worth it.

    How bigs your dictionary file?

    Are you just doing simple WPA cracking? Or using airolib with aircrack??
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default

    i am using aircrack and using dic file that came with the iso.. i am trying to learn as i go... thanks for the response i will check your sig for help that again..

    also can i change the dic file on the cd like i changed the version

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •