Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 29 of 29

Thread: install BT3 on laptop WITHOUT bootable usb and cdrom!!

  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    681

    Default

    I knew some people would come through for you.

    Those are some excellent solutions

    Quote Originally Posted by KMDave View Post
    The problem is, that you won't be able to write on a Linux filesystem.

    To extract the files shouldn't be a big problem but that your D drive is still ntfs.
    Well it might work with Fat32 but not too sure about it.
    That's more or less in line with what I was thinking and maybe over a network

    Quote Originally Posted by Mafia View Post
    if i copy the USB version of BT3 to my D drive on the laptop
    and then in Dos or in windows:
    cd into <path to stick>/boot, and execute the bootinst.bat.

    do you think this will work?

    then install grub so i can dual boot?
    Anyway I came across this --> http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...3151#post83151
    The same methods should work with the BT iso.

    Go here for more ideas --> http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...out-cd-457691/

    Let us know if you succeed or not
    [FONT=Courier New][SIZE=2][FONT=Courier New]hehe...
    [/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

  2. #22
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default

    hello guys, i'd though i'd update after all the help i got,

    the conculsion is that i decided to get a new laptop, i went for the 'Fujitsu Siemens AMILO Pi 1505' - it has a cd drive and i'm hoping to dual boot xp and backtrack, maybe have backtrack on virtual pc so i can have both running at the same time,

    thanks everyone for the help and i hope this thead will be helpful to someone with the same problems as me in the future

  3. #23
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    32

    Default

    I think someone has already said this but if you use a boot manager like grub or lilo or anyother manager you should be able to get your system to boot from the USB.

    This is quite a good read to get grub.

    worldwideweb.linux.com/feature/62434
    www dont forget

    That should help

    Dave

  4. #24
    Member imported_Deathray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    381

    Default

    I have a crazy thought, have no idea if it will work.

    BackTrack in VMWare.
    Give permissions to the physical partition / hard drive, boot
    BackTrack and install. Wouldn't that work?

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    681

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Deathray View Post
    I have a crazy thought, have no idea if it will work.

    BackTrack in VMWare.
    Give permissions to the physical partition / hard drive, boot
    BackTrack and install. Wouldn't that work?
    I don't know... possibly.
    [FONT=Courier New][SIZE=2][FONT=Courier New]hehe...
    [/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

  6. #26
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default

    do you guys think it will work if XP and backtrack (via VMware) was using the wireless adaptor? would it work slower?

  7. #27
    Member imported_Deathray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    381

    Default

    It is possible to bridge the connection with VMWare, but
    anything Windows can't do, BackTrack in VMWare won't either..
    Such as injection and so on.

  8. #28
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    No it won't work since it will be bridged as a wired network card and thatfor you can't put the card in monitormode and so on.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  9. #29
    Member joker5bb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    166

    Exclamation

    for some reason i cant get BT3 to boot on my laptop,

    i have a dell inspiron 1521, and when ever i put the cd or the usb stick in for boot it gives me the menu and after i select any option it gives me a black screen and does nothing.

    i was able to load bt3 on my desktop and other comps without any problems using the same usb stick.

    so how do i make it boot properly?

    MOD EDIT: Please read the forum rules and take note of the part about new members posts not appearing on the forum straight away.
    There is no need to post your question multiple times.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •