Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29

Thread: install BT3 on laptop WITHOUT bootable usb and cdrom!!

  1. #11
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    It's starting to look like dremel time!
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  2. #12
    Junior Member Pyros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by .lonewolf View Post
    If it's a common problem there must be a common solution.

    You haven't given much info you know.

    Like why doesn't your cd rom boot etc. Can you boot with a windows disk.

    And why doesn't your freaking usb work?

    Normally the first thing to do would be to set the bios to boot from usb or cd rom in first position. And write the BT iso file to cd or usb and make it bootable.

    I'm sorry but it's like fishing in the dark
    If you cannot boot from USB or you dont have the option in the bios try this link

    There is only so much help that can be offered , as .lonewolf has said " I'm sorry but it's like fishing in the dark "
    Stay legal ...
    Pyro

  3. #13
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by .lonewolf View Post
    If it's a common problem there must be a common solution.

    You haven't given much info you know.

    Like why doesn't your cd rom boot etc. Can you boot with a windows disk.

    And why doesn't your freaking usb work?

    Normally the first thing to do would be to set the bios to boot from usb or cd rom in first position. And write the BT iso file to cd or usb and make it bootable.

    I'm sorry but it's like fishing in the dark
    it can't boot from a usb cd rom, bec use its so old
    and because its so old it wasn't designed to boot from a usb flash drive either, but it can boot from a usb floppy.

    i'm going to try and boot from a PCMCIA cd rom which will take time coz i have to source for one
    i'll keep everyone updated

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    681

    Default

    You should just go with your original idea then. Have you tried installing from the hard drive?
    [FONT=Courier New][SIZE=2][FONT=Courier New]hehe...
    [/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

  5. #15
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by .lonewolf View Post
    You should just go with your original idea then. Have you tried installing from the hard drive?
    if i copy the USB version of BT3 to my D drive on the laptop
    and then in Dos or in windows:
    cd into <path to stick>/boot, and execute the bootinst.bat.

    do you think this will work?

    then install grub so i can dual boot?

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    681

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mafia View Post
    if i copy the USB version of BT3 to my D drive on the laptop
    and then in Dos or in windows:
    cd into <path to stick>/boot, and execute the bootinst.bat.

    do you think this will work?

    then install grub so i can dual boot?
    Just a wild guess, but I don't think that would work. I honestly don't have much experience in this area so it will take some research. I'll let you know if I find a solution.
    [FONT=Courier New][SIZE=2][FONT=Courier New]hehe...
    [/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

  7. #17
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    The problem is, that you won't be able to write on a Linux filesystem.

    To extract the files shouldn't be a big problem but that your D drive is still ntfs.
    Well it might work with Fat32 but not too sure about it.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  8. #18
    Very good friend of the forum drgr33n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Dark side of the moon ...
    Posts
    699

    Default

    You could take the hdd out and install from another pc with a cd rom prehaps ?

  9. #19
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr_GrEeN View Post
    You could take the hdd out and install from another pc with a cd rom prehaps ?
    This would be the easiest way.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  10. #20
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    They could always get a SCSI CDRom drive and use a Trantor* and a boot disk. I probably still have a few Trantor's laying around.

    *50Pin SCSI to Parallel adapter.
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •