Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: So, WPA Handshake or not?!

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    16

    Default So, WPA Handshake or not?!

    Hi there,

    For the little story, we are 3 friends trying to break each other's wireless. We started with WEP and connected clients, which was successful! Then we tried without clients, I succeeded to get one of my friend but not the other (if by chance you're curious, here is the post I did for that: I can't post url, check in the newbie area with my login ).

    Now, me and one of my friend (the one I succeeded to get the WEP) changed our protections to WPA. We got each other's handshakes (got the handshake information from airodump + checked in wireshark ). Then I used airolib to compute the PMKs, for something like 4 days...
    And then, when I started to use aircrack-ng with the table, I had this menu to ask me to choose the essid where I've just seen that it was written "MYFRIENDESSID" "WPA (0 handshake)".

    Following the tutorials, I'm expecting 1 here instead of 0, right?

    I know that without all the command lines, it's not easy to help, but would you have a small idea of what can be the problem? Like a common mistake that people use to do?...

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    204

    Default

    try running your handshake through aircrack with a (SMALL)normal dict file and see if it picks up the handshake.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MeAndMyFriends View Post

    I know that without all the command lines, it's not easy to help,

    Thanks in advance!
    I think you hit the nail on the head there

    Yes we would like to see the commands you are using, & also you need to ensure that a client is connected to perform the handshake, see the many tutorials/videos that are out there demonstrating this

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Hey, thanks for the tips, I just pass by here to say that I'm still alive, I just don't have much time now for trying again (fighting with Ubuntu), and my friends went for holidays for a couple of days, so...

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    681

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MeAndMyFriends View Post
    Hey, thanks for the tips, I just pass by here to say that I'm still alive, I just don't have much time now for trying again (fighting with Ubuntu), and my friends went for holidays for a couple of days, so...
    ... you're back MeWithoutMyFriends
    [FONT=Courier New][SIZE=2][FONT=Courier New]hehe...
    [/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Hey there, I'm back with my friends now!
    So we started again the trick, and it appears that I've got the handshake now. Or at least, I guess. I mean, in wireshark, I can see it. If I start aircrack-ng 0.9.3 from backtrack 3, it tells me 1 WPA Handshake. But now, I'm trying to compute the PMK tables in my office, and, surprise, aircrack-ng 1.0beta2 tells me that there is no WPA handshake! So I installed the 0.9.3 instead, but actually it cannot use the tables done with airolib-ng!

    Ahah, stuck!

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    681

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MeAndMyFriends View Post
    Hey there, I'm back with my friends now!
    So we started again the trick, and it appears that I've got the handshake now. Or at least, I guess. I mean, in wireshark, I can see it. If I start aircrack-ng 0.9.3 from backtrack 3, it tells me 1 WPA Handshake. But now, I'm trying to compute the PMK tables in my office, and, surprise, aircrack-ng 1.0beta2 tells me that there is no WPA handshake! So I installed the 0.9.3 instead, but actually it cannot use the tables done with airolib-ng!

    Ahah, stuck!
    Ahah... get back to work mate, lol
    [FONT=Courier New][SIZE=2][FONT=Courier New]hehe...
    [/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •