Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 34

Thread: Tonights Q: DVORAK!! ...little help please.

  1. #11
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    This should point you in the right direction. Part of xorg.conf.

    Code:
    # Core keyboard's InputDevice section
    # **********************************************************************
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    
        Identifier	"Keyboard1"
        Driver	"kbd"
    
    # For most OSs the protocol can be omitted (it defaults to "Standard").
    # When using XQUEUE (only for SVR3 and SVR4, but not Solaris),
    # uncomment the following line.
    
    #    Option     "Protocol"      "Xqueue"
    
        Option "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
    
    # Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
    #    Option	"Xleds"      "1 2 3"
    
    #    Option "LeftAlt"     "Meta"
    #    Option "RightAlt"    "ModeShift"
    
    # To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
    # lines below (which are the defaults).  For example, for a non-U.S.
    # keyboard, you will probably want to use:
    #    Option "XkbModel"    "pc105"
    # If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
    #    Option "XkbModel"    "microsoft"
    #
    # Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
    # For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
    #    Option "XkbLayout"   "de"
    # or:
    #    Option "XkbLayout"   "de"
    #    Option "XkbVariant"  "nodeadkeys"
    #
    # If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
    # control keys, use:
    #    Option "XkbOptions"  "ctrl:swapcaps"
    
    # These are the default XKB settings for Xorg
    #    Option "XkbRules"    "xorg"
    #    Option "XkbModel"    "pc105"
    #    Option "XkbLayout"   "us"
    #    Option "XkbVariant"  ""
    #    Option "XkbOptions"  ""
    
    #    Option "XkbDisable"
    
        Option "XkbRules"	"xorg"
        Option "XkbModel"	"pc105"
        Option "XkbLayout"	"fr"
    
    EndSection
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    71

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Barry View Post
    # These are the default XKB settings for Xorg
    # Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
    # Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
    # Option "XkbLayout" "us"
    # Option "XkbVariant" ""
    # Option "XkbOptions" ""

    # Option "XkbDisable"

    Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
    Option "XkbLayout" "fr"

    EndSection[/CODE]

    This is the section i've BEEN looking for.......... i'll copy and paste my xorg in a few hours (on watch @ work write now). .... Thanx though. .....That's the same thing i've been finding everywhere else, maybe my distro is just screwed. .......Thanx for the starting direction. .....That's really the thing i was trying to confirm, because that the SAME thing i seen everywhere's else, and i just don't see it in my xorg..........

    Thnx,


    -KS
    If a paraplegic made a deal with the devil to walk again, he's surely bound to be hit by a bus shortly there after.
    __________________
    Once a man asked me to help "hack" his computer. I told him to standby, and shortly returned with my axe!
    __________________
    Hacker Manifesto: READ IT! (LearnUrSelfSumting!)
    __________________

    -KS

  3. #13
    Very good friend of the forum hhmatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    660

    Default

    There's an easy way to find this section.

    Type in konsole

    Code:
    nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    From here you should see your xorg.conf file.

    Now Ctrl+w

    This is a search function.

    Type

    Code:
    keyboard's
    and hit enter.

    This should bring you directly to your keyboards input device section.

    From here you need to edit the lines necessary to get your keyboard into dvorak. I'm pretty sure its near the bottom of this section and you change the xkblayout to "pc105" or something like that. You should follow whatever directions you've been finding on the internet and be precise.

    After your done editing you can type

    Code:
    Ctrl+o
    thats the letter not the number.
    then
    Code:
    Ctrl+x
    somewhere around here you will be prompted to name the file you have edited, just make sure it says xorg.conf and hit enter.
    From here you might want to restart but it may not be necessary.

    Good luck.

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    71

    Default

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Keyboard0"
    Driver "kbd"
    Option "XkbOptions" "lv3:rwin_switch"
    Option "XkbOptions" "lv3:rwin_switch"
    Option "XkbOptions" "lv3:rwin_switch"
    Option "XkbOptions" "lv3:rwin_switch"
    Option "XkbOptions" "lv3:rwin_switch"
    Option "XkbOptions" "lv3:rwin_switch"
    Option "XkbOptions" "lv3:rwin_switch"
    EndSection


    This is the keyboard section in my xorg. .... and there's no section that says: "# These are the default XKB settings for Xorg"

    Anything about this look strange to anyone? ......... i can c/p the whole xorg if need be.


    Thnx.

    P.S. hhmatt81, thank you for that, but i don't think it will work, because there's no part like that to edit, (ya know). So, i'll just wait until someone can confirm my xorg is right b4 i move on from this point.

    Thnx all.

    -KS
    If a paraplegic made a deal with the devil to walk again, he's surely bound to be hit by a bus shortly there after.
    __________________
    Once a man asked me to help "hack" his computer. I told him to standby, and shortly returned with my axe!
    __________________
    Hacker Manifesto: READ IT! (LearnUrSelfSumting!)
    __________________

    -KS

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    681

    Default

    Example:

    Code:
    Section "Input Device"
    Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
    Driver "keyboard"
    Option "CoreKeyboard"
    Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc104"
    Option "XkbLayout" "us dvorak"
    Option "XkbVariant" "us dvorak"
    Option "XkbOptions" "us dvorak"
    EndSection
    [FONT=Courier New][SIZE=2][FONT=Courier New]hehe...
    [/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    71

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by .lonewolf View Post
    Example:

    Code:
    Section "Input Device"
    Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
    Driver "keyboard"
    Option "CoreKeyboard"
    Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc104"
    Option "XkbLayout" "us dvorak"
    Option "XkbVariant" "us dvorak"
    Option "XkbOptions" "us dvorak"
    EndSection
    Thnx, but not only did it work, but also X won't start. ......looks like i'll be re-installing again I already tried aticongifg --initial --force, and still that didn't work

    Thnx for the help, looks like i'll have a chance to see what it looks like from scratch again .............thnx tho


    -ks
    If a paraplegic made a deal with the devil to walk again, he's surely bound to be hit by a bus shortly there after.
    __________________
    Once a man asked me to help "hack" his computer. I told him to standby, and shortly returned with my axe!
    __________________
    Hacker Manifesto: READ IT! (LearnUrSelfSumting!)
    __________________

    -KS

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    681

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by .K.S. View Post
    Thnx, but not only did it work, but also X won't start. ......looks like i'll be re-installing again I already tried aticongifg --initial --force, and still that didn't work

    Thnx for the help, looks like i'll have a chance to see what it looks like from scratch again .............thnx tho


    -ks
    That's why I said "Example"

    Anyways you don't have to re-install just because x won't start
    If you got console you can fix it.
    [FONT=Courier New][SIZE=2][FONT=Courier New]hehe...
    [/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by .lonewolf View Post
    That's why I said "Example"

    Anyways you don't have to re-install just because x won't start
    If you got console you can fix it.
    Very true. Just type in root and toor...then in the command line redo your
    nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    and edit it back the way it was.

    OMG!! I had to google up what dvorak was. Wanna hear something funny at -=Xploitz=- expense??

    I really thought dvorak was was some foreign country and this was its keyboard layout!
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    681

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -=Xploitz=- View Post
    Very true. Just type in root and toor...then in the command line redo your
    nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    and edit it back the way it was.

    OMG!! I had to google up what dvorak was. Wanna hear something funny at -=Xploitz=- expense??

    I really thought dvorak was was some foreign country and this was its keyboard layout!
    lol, that's funny -=Xploitz=-
    I thought it was some high tech wireless keyboard or something, lmao
    [FONT=Courier New][SIZE=2][FONT=Courier New]hehe...
    [/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

  10. #20
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -=Xploitz=- View Post
    Very true. Just type in root and toor...then in the command line redo your
    nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    and edit it back the way it was.

    OMG!! I had to google up what dvorak was. Wanna hear something funny at -=Xploitz=- expense??

    I really thought dvorak was was some foreign country and this was its keyboard layout!
    It's gotta be. I've only heard of three people using it. I know no one that does. Must be some weird third world country.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •