Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Problem Connecting to Internet

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    58

    Exclamation Problem Connecting to Internet

    Hi can someone please help me connect to the intenet? I have a Dell Inspiron 1504. My wireless card is a Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller. When I try to go online, it doesn't work. When I go to the Wifi something- it's not the Manager...the other Wifi tool in the Internet menu, it says there is no network adapter detected. What do I do?

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    23

    Default

    what OS are you using?

    i've got an e1705 (your's big fat brother). but all the internals are the same... i haven't had a problem w/ the wifi driver.... are you sure you've connected to the right AP with the right WEP or WPA key?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    58

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by geedub View Post
    what OS are you using?

    i've got an e1705 (your's big fat brother). but all the internals are the same... i haven't had a problem w/ the wifi driver.... are you sure you've connected to the right AP with the right WEP or WPA key?
    Well my computer came with Vista but I am using BT2. When I go to Wireless Assistant, it says "no usable adapter found". When I type iwconfig in a shell, it says:
    lo no wireless extensions found
    eth0 no wireless extensions found

    Also, I cannot CONNECT to an AP because it's as if I don't have a wireless adapter.

  4. #4
    Very good friend of the forum hhmatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    660

    Default

    Why are you bumping your post soo quickly after your last one?

    Try looking at ifconfig instead.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    58

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hhmatt81 View Post
    Why are you bumping your post soo quickly after your last one?

    Try looking at ifconfig instead.
    ifconfig just says something about my local ip: 127.0.0.0
    everything else if full of 0's

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yomama07024 View Post
    ifconfig just says something about my local ip: 127.0.0.0
    everything else if full of 0's
    When I go to the Wifi something
    Do try and be a bit more specific when you tell us that a command does something and not like the above.

    Boot BT do a dmesg and then post the results, if it is to long to post here which I think it is then you can also try and use http://pastebin.com
    and give us the link.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    58

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by archangel.amael View Post
    Do try and be a bit more specific when you tell us that a command does something and not like the above.

    Boot BT do a dmesg
    Where do I do this? where you type startx or in a shell?

  8. #8
    Senior Member Thorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Green Dome
    Posts
    1,509

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yomama07024 View Post
    Where do I do this? where you type startx or in a shell?
    If you're asking those kinds of questions, you might want to start off getting the basics of Linux down. Here are some sites to do that:

    http://www.linux.org/lessons/
    http://www.linux.ie/newusers/beginners-linux-guide/
    http://linuxreviews.org/beginner/
    http://homepage.powerup.com.au/~squadron/
    Thorn
    Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    681

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yomama07024 View Post
    Where do I do this? where you type startx or in a shell?
    Read these pages... and understand.

    Basic Linux Commands


    Commands For Guru Wanna-bees


    Linux Commands for
    Beginning Server Administrators Updated
    [FONT=Courier New][SIZE=2][FONT=Courier New]hehe...
    [/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

  10. #10
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •