Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Help With BackTrack Dual Boot with Vista

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default Help With BackTrack Dual Boot with Vista

    Hey,

    I have looked all throughout this forum and along with looking through Google for answers to this questions. The problem that I can't seem to find a solution for is when I go through the tutorial to dual boot, everything goes piece of cake until the very last step. When changing the lilo.conf file I copy the tutorial exactly but when I go to run lilo -v, I get a "Fatal: First sector of /dev/sda1 doesn't have a recognizable boot." Hopefully, someone can help me out with this, I'm running on a T61 Lenovo, Vista Ultimate OS, trying to use Backtrack 2. BTW, the Backtrack portion is found but then when lilo trys to find windows, thats when the error occurs.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Member Primey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    126

    Default

    maybe this works for you, in any case, it's the same procedure that you use to Dual Boot with XP, if you're still having problems, posting your lilo conf would help in these cases
    "Family, Religion, Friends, those are the three demons you must face if you want to be successful in business"
    Montgomery Burns

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default Lilo conf

    Thanks for the quick response, my lilo conf is

    lba32
    boot = /dev/sda
    #compact # faster
    promt
    timeout = 300
    vga = 791

    #Linux start
    image = /boot/vmlinuz
    root = /dev/sda4
    label = BT2
    read-only

    other = /dev/sda1
    label = Windows
    table = /dev/sda

    Now i tried re mounting my /boot/ from a previous post on the forum, and apparently this doesn't help because now I get a
    "warning:
    /proc/partitions' does not exist, disk scan bypasses
    Fatal: creat /boot/map~: No such file or directory"

    fdisk shows the partitions in order and correct System

    All help is GREATLY appreciated, I'm new to Linux but am avid to get rid of Windows.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default Mounting Error

    When I use the command 'mount' the output is

    tmpfs on / type tmpfs (rw)
    proc on / proc type proc (rw)
    sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw,devgid=10,devmode=0666)
    /dev/sda4 on /mnt/sda4 type reiserfs (rw,noatime)
    /dev/sda2 on /mnt/backtrack/boot type ext2 (rw)

    when I try command "chroot /mnt/backtrack/ /bin/bash/"

    output is:
    chroot: cannot run command '/bin/bash/' : No such file or directory

    Hope this can help someone in aiding my failed attempt at dual booting my laptop.

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    Well guess what, you don't have a sda1.

    Basically you have given yourself the answer to your question.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default Proc/Partitions

    When using fdisk my sda1 shows up normally, correct system, correct size. When I used qtparted it shows up but not as a windows system, it shows as a unknown active? Any ideas?


    When i try to run qtparted now I get an error that says "cannot find /proc/partitions" I want to just blow away the partitions and load just backtrack and say Debian? Whats the easiest way to go about doing that

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •