Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: stealth option in next BT

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO r4w8173's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default stealth option in next BT

    Hello forum,

    I had experienced a little "error", or better say unexpected behavior, on backtrack 2 and 3.

    The problem is that backtrack will try to configure all network interfaces on startup. I have a T43 ThinkPad laptop with a wireless interface. When I boot up the wireless card starts sending probe requests in order to register with an access point in range. This leads to a problem regarding your privacy because the probe requests are sent with your real MAC address. So anyone sniffing and/or logging wireless traffic will be aware that you have just booted your computer and you have a wireless interface made by intel.

    I think it would be a great boot option to backtrack that tells the system to bring up wireless interfaces in monitor mode by default (in monitor mode the wireless card from my laptop is not sending any probe requests), or simply starts the system with all interfaces down, and one can bring back the interfaces on request not by default.

    What do you think?

  2. #2
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    A look here should reveal the option you are looking for.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO r4w8173's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I was aware of that page, but call me noob, I don't know which option do you mean ...

  4. #4
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    Just read through it carefully, there is one exact line where it says something about network at bootup.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO r4w8173's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default

    There is a single option which refers to networks and that is related to DHCP. That is not what I meant. The problem is that there are some cards like my intel card which once started sends probe requests. If the card would be in monitor or inactive mode, it would be quiet.

    The dhcpcd option is set in the boot parameters ... and still probe requests are sent.

  6. #6
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    Was a first try.

    If that doesn't work you should have a look into the files in /etc/rc.d .
    I haven't played around too much with wireless yet so I can't tell you which file it is exactly but you should try rc.wireless.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •