Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Please help: 3945ABG wireless not working

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    8

    Question Please help: 3945ABG wireless not working

    I have installed BT3 beta on HDD, but I'm having problems getting my 3945 to work.

    Following this advice on an old thread:
    Quote Originally Posted by antonisnik View Post
    3945abg works perfect in bt3.

    just unload the normal drivers (modprobe -r ipw3945 or iw3945 i dont remember now..)

    write:

    cd /usr/src/drivers/ipwraw-ng/
    make
    make install
    modprobe ipwraw

    thast it!

    now if you write iwconfig you have the wifi0 and rtap0 interfaces to use with aircrack-ng suite!!

    also now you can adjust the channel and rate of your card:

    iwconfig wifi0 rate xM
    iwconfig wifi0 channel x

    go crack now!!!
    The make install works ok for the raw drivers, but I get the following error for modprobe:

    #modprobe ipwraw
    FATAL: Error inserting ipwraw (/lib/modules/2.6.21.5-smp/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/ipwraw.ko): Invalid module format


    Any advice how to fix this?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    The drivers you need are all ready installed on bt3 to fix the menu links check the bug&fix section for my fix. Then you can load and unload from the kde menu.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pureh@te View Post
    The drivers you need are all ready installed on bt3 to fix the menu links check the bug&fix section for my fix. Then you can load and unload from the kde menu.
    I fixed the KDE menu as suggested but I get:

    FATAL: Error inserting ipwraw (/lib/modules/2.6.21.5-smp/kernel/drivers/net/wire less/ipwraw.ko): Invalid module format
    No modules unloaded.
    insmod: error inserting 'compatible/iwl3945.ko': -1 Invalid module format
    Load failed.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    681

    Default

    Try reinstalling the drivers and if that doesn't help reinstall BT3. It may be worth checking if the BT3 download isn't corrupt... ie. check that the md5 sums match, if you haven't already checked.
    [FONT=Courier New][SIZE=2][FONT=Courier New]hehe...
    [/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default

    do not load or install any thing , ipwraw and iwl3945 are already install in bt3 ,

    try this :

    1- modprobe -r iwl3945

    2- modprobe ipwraw

    then
    3- ifconfig wifi0 down
    4- macchanger --mac 00:11:22:33:44:55 wifi0
    5- ifconfig wifi0 up

    and

    airmon-ng start wifi0

    i think it's will work with you this time , i have the same intel 4945 wireless card and it's work with me so great , injuct and replay everything ,,,

    note : do not install or load any drive couz it's already installed in bt3

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by {HARD} View Post
    do not load or install any thing , ipwraw and iwl3945 are already install in bt3 ,

    try this :

    1- modprobe -r iwl3945

    2- modprobe ipwraw
    # modprobe ipwraw
    FATAL: Error inserting ipwraw (/lib/modules/2.6.21.5-smp/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/ipwraw.ko): Invalid module format

    If you type in a light color some of us that use the white skin may never see your post --purehate


    I found this in the boot log (dmesg):
    iwl3945: version magic '2.6.21.5 SMP mod_unload 486 ' should be '2.6.21.5-smp SMP mod_unload 686

    Looks like it might be the problem - any ideas how I fix it?
    Thanks.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    681

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by adamh128 View Post
    Looks like it might be the problem - any ideas how I fix it?
    Thanks.
    If you're using BT3 beta you should check the BT3beta Bugs & Fixes
    section for possible solutions.

    Example: this is to fix the menu items: taken from the Bugs section of the Wiki here:
    http://backtrack.offensive-security....ect_menu_items

    Incorrect menu items

    Backtrack>Radio Network Analysis>80211>Misc
    Fix:
    • Load IPW 3945/4965
    Command: modprobe ipwraw && rmmod ipwraw & load && cd /root;sudo -s
    Workpath: /usr/src/drivers/iwlwifi-1.0.0/
    • Load IPWRAW
    Command: unload && modprobe ipwraw && cd /root;sudo -s
    Workpath: /usr/src/drivers/iwlwifi-1.0.0/
    You can also check the wiki >>
    http://wiki.remote-exploit.org/index...reless#IPW3945

    There are a lot of threads covering the ipw3945.

    You can use the Search Function and search for ipw3945 to find them.

    Good Luck
    [FONT=Courier New][SIZE=2][FONT=Courier New]hehe...
    [/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default problems with ipwraw

    PLease help me.

    When i execute in /usr/src/drivers/iwlwifi-1.0.0/, the command load, the modules up, with dmesg command a can seee the messages, with lsmod i can see the modules, but when i execute ifconfig wlan0 or iwconfig wifi0, in any case work.

    I tried with the other modelu ipwraw, when i execute in /usr/src/drivers/ipwarw-ng, the command load, dont work and say me "Waiting for /sys/class/net/wifi0/device/rtap_iface to apper .....time out"
    Could not find wifi0 interface.

    Please, help. what happen?.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default

    {HARD}, I was having the same problem with my wireless card and your post helped me. Thank you. While I am very greatful that it is working, im not satisfied with the solution so much as understanding what was wrong and how I fixed it.

    Would it be possible for someone to explain what was wrong and how those commands fixed it.

    ~Nightwork

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Greetings Captains!

    Sorry for Invading this Thread, but i'm new to these forums, i've sent a PM to an Administrator, but i still have a problem.

    I am a software developer, and a <backtrack enthusiast>.
    BT2 worked fine for my laptop, but it no longer works with BT3 (initrd hangs at boot)

    I want to start a thread in the BT3 beta section -- non working hardware, but i always get the message that i cannot post because my account is being verified.

    Was this my fault? Is this normal?

    Please enlighten my path

    Cheers,
    Phk

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •