Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: alfa usb txpower 0-36 !!! danger??

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    19

    Default alfa usb txpower 0-36 !!! danger??

    hi
    ive just reinstalled the rtl8187 driver and found this on the aircrack site:

    rtl8187_2.6.24v3.patch -> iwpriv wlan0 highpower 1 -> iwconfig wlan0 txpower (value of 0 to 35) but !!

    +++++++++ WARNING +++++++++
    +++++++++ WARNING +++++++++
    WARNING: Enabling high power can damage or destroy your wireless device. Use this feature at your own risk.
    +++++++++ WARNING +++++++++
    +++++++++ WARNING +++++++++

    so,what is the max txpower i could set on my alfa without harming ?
    i actually set the txpower to 6 because i found out this on net:

    6dBm = ~350mW
    5dBm = ~300mW
    4dBm = ~250mW
    3dBm = ~180mW
    2dBm = ~125mW
    1dBm = ~63mW

    so 10 dBm would be the max of 500 mw of the alfa

    additional i found this:

    "Ok, first of all "5" is just the default value for the final/retail alfa awus036h. other rtl8187L devices got different default values. the awus036h prototype got a default of "7", the new alfa usb stick is set to 10 and another rtl8187L device got "9" as default."

    so????

    what is the max trxpowersetting for the alfa usbstick without harming ?

    thx

    ps.iam german ;D,sorry for mistakes gg

  2. #2
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    A little reading for you. http://www.ycars.org/EFRA/Module%20C/TLSWR.htm

    As power increases, if your antenna is not properly tuned to your transmitter, your SWR increases as well. An SWR of 3 is very bad, and can damage the unit.

    Since all these things are mass produced, chances of the antenna being properly tuned to the variances in transmitters is not very good. So chances are, right out of the box, you'd probably have an SWR of 1.5 and standard output power (this is a guess, and that SWR is in acceptable ranges for the normal person, only neurotics like myself try to get the 1.1). The more output power you transmit the better you want to tune your antenna.
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    19

    Default

    thx for the fast answer
    but i cant wasting my time reading that text :C
    its all about unknown language ggg
    did someone understand that sh... ?
    do i have to study informatics to understand that site ?
    so what iam supposed to do?
    just leaving the default setting?
    where can i find that swr ?
    is there any command that will show me my swr?
    sorry i f that sounds a little nooblike,but maybe iam

  4. #4
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by the-BIG-one View Post
    thx for the fast answer
    but i cant wasting my time reading that text :C
    its all about unknown language ggg
    did someone understand that sh... ?
    do i have to study informatics to understand that site ?
    so what iam supposed to do?
    just leaving the default setting?
    where can i find that swr ?
    is there any command that will show me my swr?
    sorry i f that sounds a little nooblike,but maybe iam
    That is ungodly hard to read. I think Streaker was just saying leave it at it's default levels until you know a little more about wifi.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  5. #5
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Barry View Post
    That is ungodly hard to read. I think Streaker was just saying leave it at it's default levels until you know a little more about wifi.
    Yeah, I guess that was the basis of my post.
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    19

    Default

    ok
    figured it out
    but why is the highpower option available although its not working yet
    or although its to danger to set it ?
    there must be any reasons

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default erroneous

    Where did you find that 1dbm = 65mw?????



    dBm = log10 (mW)*10
    mW =10^(dBm/10)

    40 dBm 10.00 watts
    36 dBm 4.00 watts
    30 dBm 1.00 watts
    27 dBm 500 milliwatts
    26 dBm 400 milliwatts
    25 dBm 320 milliwatts
    24 dBm 250 milliwatts
    23 dBm 200 milliwatts
    22 dBm 160 milliwatts
    21 dBm 130 milliwatts
    20 dBm 100 milliwatts
    15 dBm 32 milliwatts
    10 dBm 10 milliwatts
    5 dBm 3.2 milliwatts
    4 dBm 2.5 milliwatts
    3 dBm 2.0 milliwatts
    2 dBm 1.6 milliwatts
    1 dBm 1.3 milliwatts
    0 dBm 1.0 milliwatts
    1- dBm 0.79 milliwatts
    5- dBm 0.32 milliwatts
    10- dBm 0.1 milliwatts
    20- dBm 0.01 milliwatts
    30- dBm 0.001 milliwatts
    40- dBm 0.0001 milliwatts
    50- dBm 0.00001 milliwatts
    60- dBm 0.000001 milliwatts
    70- dBm 0.0000001 milliwatts
    80- dBm 0.00000001 milliwatts

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •