Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: chntpw not working for me

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Senior Member lordplagueis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    106

    Default chntpw not working for me

    when I type #chntpw -i /dev/sda2/Windows/System32/config/SAM the output is

    chntpw version 0.99.5 070923 (decade), (c) Petter N Hagen
    openHive(/dev/sda2/Windows/System32/config/SAM) failed: Not a directory, trying read-only
    openHive(/dev/sda2/Windows/System32/config/SAM) in fallback RO-mode failed: Not a directory
    closing hive /dev/sda2/Windows/System32/config/SAM
    Unable to open/read a hive, exiting..

    but when I type #chntpw -i /dev/sda2 the output is

    chntpw version 0.99.5 070923 (decade), (c) Petter N Hagen
    openHive(/dev/sda2): File does not seem to be a registry hive!


    <>========<> chntpw Main Interactive Menu <>========<>

    Loaded hives: </dev/sda2>

    1 - Edit user data and passwords
    2 - Syskey status & change
    3 - RecoveryConsole settings
    - - -
    9 - Registry editor, now with full write support!
    q - Quit (you will be asked if there is something to save)


    What to do? [1] ->

    can somebody tell me what am I doing wrong .
    Last edited by lordplagueis; 02-06-2010 at 04:34 PM. Reason: mispelled something
    HP DV7
    8GB DDR3
    Core i7-720QM
    Nvidia GeForce GT 320M

    BT5-64bit x WIN7-64bit DualBoot

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: chntpw not working for me

    your problem is most likely that you are using /dev/sda and not /media/sda or /mnt/sda.
    /dev is the raw device.
    The hard drive should be mounted under either /mnt or /media.

    Also, this may help you some:
    YouTube - Clear all Passwords and Upgrade User Permissions
    Free Port by Free CSS Templates

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: chntpw not working for me

    I know this thread is old but since it's one of the first in the google search maybe this can help a lot of people.
    I solved the problem above by simply mounting the partition of Windows (the one that says "OS") then typing [ chntpw -i /media/OS/Windows/System32/config/SAM ].
    Notice that typed "OS" instead of "sda3" which is my Windows partition.
    Hope it helps.

    regards

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    74

    Default Re: chntpw not working for me

    That's all fine and dandy as long as you have done mkdir /media/OS

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: chntpw not working for me

    Quote Originally Posted by ThePistonDoctor View Post
    That's all fine and dandy as long as you have done mkdir /media/OS
    Hi
    Well, it was there by default (at system menu/storage media)!
    I just installed BT4 R2!

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    267

    Default Re: chntpw not working for me

    And don't forget to actually apply the changes, that bit me in the butt first time I tried....
    Student Systems Administration and Network Engineering, second year.
    Don't PM me with questions, unless very specific. Otherwise, use the forums so everyone can potentially benefit from it.

Similar Threads

  1. Wireless not working
    By Mylegiscramped in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-05-2010, 09:56 AM
  2. wireless stopped working
    By dollarbag in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-01-2010, 03:40 PM
  3. Wireless not working on MSI Cr700
    By Extremus in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-23-2010, 08:28 PM
  4. Edimax EW-7318USg working
    By erhardm in forum HardWare Compatibility List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-19-2010, 12:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •