Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Kismet crashing upon startup....

Just burned his ISO

Default Kismet crashing upon startup....

Hello, I am new to BT3 and Linux. I have a Dell 8100 w/ Netgear WG511T installed and working. When I open Kismet, it prompts me to choose my network adapter, I choose my adapter, a window flashes momentarily, then nada. Am I doing something wrong, or is this a known bug? Please help.

You're probably doing something wrong. Your kismet.conf file needs to have your driver, interface and a name, like the line below:
    Code:
    source=madwifing_g,wifi0,WIFI
    You can also do this from the commandline. A search will show you how.

Just burned his ISO

Could someone please post a link to the information I need? I have been using Linux for a month. I have been using BT3 for 2 days. I don't mind looking or learning. But I don't even know what I am looking for. I am here to ask for your help because you know what to do!

Good friend of the forums williamc's Avatar

No problem. However, you should provide us with your wireless chipset so we can walk you through it.

do a search for kismet.conf

plenty of answers

Quote Originally Posted by dragon1964m View Post
    Could someone please post a link to the information I need? I have been using Linux for a month. I have been using BT3 for 2 days. I don't mind looking or learning. But I don't even know what I am looking for. I am here to ask for your help because you know what to do!

Just burned his ISO

Thank you "williamc"! I found that I have an Atheros chipset. I was able to find a post that helped me get it up and running for now. The next challenge is learning how to use it! I set up an old PC and an old Linksys Wireless Router with two fried ports. That is my "Lab". Learning about computers is a lot of fun!

Just burned his ISO