Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Poweroff

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    74

    Default Poweroff

    Is there anything I can do about when I shut down to keep it from hanging?
    It just does not seem to shut all the way down. Thanks

  2. #2
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Richard Naggin View Post
    Is there anything I can do about when I shut down to keep it from hanging?
    It just does not seem to shut all the way down. Thanks
    What doesn't ?
    We need some real info or are you expecting us to get it by osmosis.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    74

    Default

    Sorry for lack of info, I am using Backtrack 3 on a USB. I have updated everything I can think of. I am using Persestent changes mode.
    I am also using a Toshiba A135-4527 Satelite.
    When I go to shut it down, (type poweroff) it hangs with My powerlight still on and a Black Screen. It never really completes the shut-down Thanks

  4. #4

    Default

    I don't know at what point it hangs, but you can try Ctrl+Alt+Backspace to kill the X-Server after typing poweroff, or, to completely reboot safely, hold down Alt+PrintScrn and whilst holding down, press the following keys in the following order, one second between each (roughly): RSEIUB

    -Stephen

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default

    As phoenix said it would probably help if you could tell us how far it reaches before you notice the "hang"

    Does it actually reach the point where "System Halted" appears on screen ?

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    74

    Default Power off

    It appears to go right to the point of not turning off my Power, it will not shut off. It must log off correctly because I can still fire it up and use it.
    I found this on another site , but I can't seem to find the file he is mentioning:
    Fix Shutdown Bug
    Some people report that when they shutdown Backtrack, the screen goes blank, but the power light remains on. If you are having this problem, then try the following:

    Using your favorite editor, add this line to /etc/rc.d/rc.6
    modprobe -r snd_hda_intel
    just before the line:
    echo "Unmounting local file systems."

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Richard Naggin View Post
    I found this on another site , but I can't seem to find the file he is mentioning:

    Using your favorite editor, add this line to /etc/rc.d/rc.6
    modprobe -r snd_hda_intel
    just before the line:
    echo "Unmounting local file systems."
    [/B]
    Your answer is highlighted for you above
    Open Konquerer in the address bar type in /etc/rc.d/ then hit enter
    then find the file rc.6 right click on it select open with
    and then Kwrite
    edit the file by adding the line from above
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    74

    Default Fixed It!!

    It Works, Thanks!!

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Richard Naggin View Post
    It Works, Thanks!!

    No problem glad that you got it to work.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •