Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: The process for the file protocol died unexpectedly

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    5

    Lightbulb The process for the file protocol died unexpectedly

    with my amicus 3600 on live cd bt3b de folowing error apears in kde:

    The process for the file protocol died unexpectedly

    is there a cheat code for ?

  2. #2
    Junior Member drpepperONE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    51

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bertje View Post
    with my amicus 3600 on live cd bt3b de folowing error apears in kde:

    The process for the file protocol died unexpectedly

    is there a cheat code for ?
    From kde forum:

    1. More memory decreases the chance the message occurs.
    2. The problem seems to be related to the availability of a network, but only just after boot up. After that, network seems irrelevant
    3. The problem seems to be connected to whether a cd is in the tray when kdm starts or not.
    4. Loading a desktop picture or not, seems to have connection to the problem as well.

    So, it seems safe to deduct that the default order of starting things in kdm start is not quite right. Obviously, more RAM causes some processes to start - and finish - faster. A disk being present in a tray will spawn an extra process (maybe even requiring network, like cddb lookups), which will delay some other process, which causes the error. Loading desktop pictures causes the same delay (but wouldn't need network, unless the picture is on a remote drive).
    http://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=132587
    Use your Brain, don't be slave!!!!

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default

    thanx for your answer i have low memory only 128mb

    wich codes i need to turn of useless proceses ?

  4. #4
    Junior Member drpepperONE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    51

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bertje View Post
    thanx for your answer i have low memory only 128mb

    wich codes i need to turn of useless proceses ?
    Hi you could find here a good place from to start

    http://www.linuxjournal.com/article/2770

    If you have low memory I suggest to you to create a supplementary swap partition and use FluxBox windowmanager instead of KDE because Fluxbox environment uses less memory than a blank KDE environment.
    Use your Brain, don't be slave!!!!

  5. #5
    Junior Member halgorithm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    30

    Default

    I'm getting the same thing on an installed BT3 beta - but I have 1.5 gigs of ddr2 in my laptop.

    Any thoughts?

    EDIT: crap I rebooted and now the odd thing is it's behaving incorrectly - in addition that I cannot get past the login screen vs before when I was. It also has (none) in front of login.

  6. #6
    Member The_Denv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    364

    Default

    Do what drpepperONE said...use flux instead of kde. So dont type startx type flux.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •