Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: EEEPC attempting SD card install...

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    52

    Default EEEPC attempting SD card install...

    is it not possible to install (REAL NOT LIVE) bt3 to an SD card? i have followed ihacked dot com.s tutorial however i seem to be having trouble with mkfs.ext3 because when i go to mount i get a format error,,, i guess my question is can you use ext3 filesystem on an SD card?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fload View Post
    is it not possible to install (REAL NOT LIVE) bt3 to an SD card? i have followed ihacked dot com.s tutorial however i seem to be having trouble with mkfs.ext3 because when i go to mount i get a format error,,, i guess my question is can you use ext3 filesystem on an SD card?
    I am not saying you can't but I have used only fat 32 and 16 so far.
    I will try and test other versions this weekend and post results.

    I used fat32 on my card and I think others have too.
    I read that tutorial and had problems with parts of it.
    I would suggest that you use the wiki:
    http://backtrack.offensive-security....rack_USB_Stick

    Failing this you could also get the bt3usbcreator by sh@menVirtuel
    search for it here on the forums.
    However Pureh@te will have the best answer for this.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    52

    Default

    hmmm i had installed bt3 to the 4gb SSD but quickly ran out of room after updating everything was hoping to get a real install on a 16GB SDcard I tried searching google but maybe im not using the right terms though..

    im fairly new to linux what are the drawbacks to using fat32? can a real install be done on the fat32 filesystem?

  4. #4
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    I have a 16 gig sdhc card and YES the ext2 or ext3 file systems can be used. This can only be done for a save changes partition. I have tried a real install several times and have not been sucsessful. I get a kenel panic every time. So the only way I have got the sdhc casd to work is a 2gig FAT32 partiton for bt3 ( extra gig for .lzm's I make) and the other 14 as ext3 for my save changes partition. It works great. Saves every thing and I have really not noticed a lot off difference from a "real" install. Hope that can help you in your quest.

  5. #5
    Junior Member SWFu64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    97

    Default

    I too have been pulling my hair out with this one, I don't know how many times I have stared looking at that 81% progress bar now!

    I'm going to follow pureh@te's great video instructions when I get home later today.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    52

    Default

    well I have bt3 installed on the ssd and it works great I really wish I could just leave that install on there and maybe just move most of the programs to the Sd and mount the root/home on the sd Is this possible? I've been reading Linux for noobs (dummies) and I get the impression that you can mount any folder/directory to any partition. However I'm not sure if I start moving directorys over if it will break any links between libraries, from what I understand it should be really easy I just can't find any Info about anyone doing this.. I'm gonna read up a lil more and prolly give it a shot... Any directorys I definitly shouldn't move?
    P.S. Thanks for the help so far!

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pureh@te View Post
    I have a 16 gig sdhc card and YES the ext2 or ext3 file systems can be used. This can only be done for a save changes partition. I have tried a real install several times and have not been sucsessful. I get a kenel panic every time. So the only way I have got the sdhc casd to work is a 2gig FAT32 partiton for bt3 ( extra gig for .lzm's I make) and the other 14 as ext3 for my save changes partition. It works great. Saves every thing and I have really not noticed a lot off difference from a "real" install. Hope that can help you in your quest.
    what did you use to partition your 16G sdhc card? I found that acronis disk director wont detect my 16SDHC integral card (using eeepc).

    Great videos! Was a great help.

  8. #8
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    charlie126, I had the same problem as you. Nothing I had would detect my 16 gig card so what i did was I took a 1 gig usb and threw the bt3 and boot folders on it and made it bootable. Then I booted from usb on the eeepc. Once bt was up and running and I was in a familiar enviorment so I poped in the 16 gig card and it read it fine. Then I use fdisk to make my partitions and mkfsdos and mkfs.ext3 to make my file systems. Then i copied the two folders from the usb to the sd card and made it bootable. Then i rebooted to make sure every thing was kosher and then I made the save changes mods to the file. If you need more in depth help let me know.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pureh@te View Post
    charlie126, I had the same problem as you. Nothing I had would detect my 16 gig card so what i did was I took a 1 gig usb and threw the bt3 and boot folders on it and made it bootable. Then I booted from usb on the eeepc. Once bt was up and running and I was in a familiar enviorment so I poped in the 16 gig card and it read it fine. Then I use fdisk to make my partitions and mkfsdos and mkfs.ext3 to make my file systems. Then i copied the two folders from the usb to the sd card and made it bootable. Then i rebooted to make sure every thing was kosher and then I made the save changes mods to the file. If you need more in depth help let me know.

    works a treat, id tryed it with gparted from the ubuntu live cd paritioning the 16sdhc

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default

    what SDHC card are you guys using? Seems like even a great sdhc card has lower sustained read/write rates than a good flash drive, so why install BT3 to an sdhc over a flash drive? I'm debating between the two, as I am mounting 2 flash drives internally, so having a USB drive stick out the side of my machine won't be a bother. But maybe i will mount an SDHC internally as well...

    ~JSlice~

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •