Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Need help please - BT3 and Windows installed

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default Need help please - BT3 and Windows installed

    Hello,
    sorry for my English first.
    Last 2 hours i've formated my HDD,and installed WIndows XP again.
    Ok,then ive make Partitions with Norton
    sda1 = Windows System NTFS
    sda5 = Partition for Music,Document,etc NTFS
    sda6 = Backtrack EXT3
    sda7 = Transfer Partition WIn and BT3 FAT

    Ok,LIve CD of BT3 booted
    K-Backtrack-Install
    Source Backtrack = /mnt/live/mnt/hdc/BT3
    Install Backtrack to = /dev/sda6
    Write new MBR to = /dev/sda7
    Install Method was Real and Restore original MBR was CHECKED

    Backtrack is now on sda6 - OK
    The lilo.mbr was togheter with original.mbr,lilo080212Tue150553.mbr and orig080212Tue150553.mbr also on sda6 - hmm okay its not sda7 but Okay.
    Ive copy the lilo.mbr from system:/media/sda6 to system:/media/sda1 with little changes ive read

    This is my lilo.conf
    Code:
    boot = /dev/sda6
    prompt
    timeout = 60
    #bitmap=/boot/splash.bmp
    change-rules
    reset
    #vga = 769,771/773/792
    vga = 769
    image = /boot/vmlinuz
      root = current
      label = BackTrack
      read-write
    
    other = /dev/sda1
    label = Windows XP
    then i typed lilo -v

    After a restart i can switch between WIndows XP and Backtrack,WIndows works perfekt,but when i want to start Backtrack it says me
    Invalid system disk

    ANyone can help me?

    I can format the HDD again,if anyone write me how i install it correct.
    My English isnt good,i dont understand many Tutorials so good.

    Best regards

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,334

    Default

    Lilo.conf - BT - boot = /dev/sda & root = sda6 ??

    Change you lilo.conf to reflect this:

    Code:
    boot = /dev/sda
    prompt
    timeout = 60
    #bitmap=/boot/splash.bmp
    change-rules
    reset
    #vga = 769,771/773/792
    vga = 769
    image = /boot/vmlinuz
      root = /dev/sda6
      label = BackTrack
      read-write
    
    other = /dev/sda1
    label = Windows XP
    table = /dev/sda    << edit by pureh@te(forgot that part Re@lity : )
    (EDIT: Yes, Thnx PH - I copied and pasted the OP's lilo.conf, only paying attention to the devices being selected)

    But why didn't you just install Lilo to sda1, in the first place, with the "restore original mbr" un-checked, so it actually gets written there and left.
    Then, boot into BT and edit your lilo.conf to add your Windows partition.
    Re-boot to multi-boot

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    You means that i have to uncheck "restore after" and install lilo directly to sda1?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,334

    Default

    Yes, you could have done that........

    But I have also given you an edited version of your lilo.conf (above) which should make things OK for you without any re-installing

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Hi Reality :-)
    First i will thank you very much for your help.
    Yesterday i've formated my HDD again,now its Win XP installed.
    I will try to make a dualboot again,can you give me a bit support on my way?
    I'll hope so

    I will write a German Tutorial when its done without any Problems

    Ok on Win Partition Magic is installed right now,i have splitt my HDD again in 2 Parts,here we go

    hxxp://XXX.imgbox.de/?img=s36330c118.png

    Code:
    You are only allowed to post URLs to other sites after you have made 15 posts or more.
    GRML

    This is my actually Configuration

    Windows System Files on C:/
    and
    a partition for other Things D:/

    Ok,now first questions
    I have to make how many Partitions for Backtrack?
    Primary or Logical?
    I want to have a Partition to switch Datas between Win and BT3,i have to do a FAT32 or a FAT?

    Thanks for help me,after a Response i will give you the /dev/sda´s of my Partitions,and hope for more help then

    Greetz

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,334

    Default

    You only actually *need* one partition for BT and then a swap partition.
    There's myriad preferences on partitioning schemes - just look around the web
    Although, in this case, you probably don't need to consider having separate /boot, / & /usr partitions, etc, etc.

    So, just make yourself an ext3 partition (you can make it a Primary Partition), a swap partition, and then your chosen "shared data" FAT32 partition.
    If you're using Partition Magic (I think you said?) then it's easy enough

    Just an aside here, for future reference - you can reasonably safely mount an NTFS partition as read/write these days, to access your Windows partition.
    In Windows, you can install a "driver" (of sorts) to allow access from your Windows to the Ext2/3 partition - so both the OS's can "see" each others partitions with full read/write access.
    This way you don't need to create a "shared" FAT32 partition and won't suffer from the FAT32 filesize limitations, etc.

    Back to BT installation - select your chosen Ext3 partition as the destination.
    Choose to write the bootloader to sda1, without the "restore MBR" checkbox.

    Install.

    Boot into BT from HDD.

    Append the differences in the above example lilo.conf (my earlier post) into your shiny new lilo.conf, substituting the correct sdaX values....
    Run "lilo -v"

    Reboot to see Lilo offering both Windows and BT

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •