Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Metasploit 3.1

Hybrid View

  1. #1

    Default Metasploit 3.1

    nice looking change in windows haven't played with it much yet but looks good so far. Had a quick go at installing it on bt3 but was complaining about other packages for the gui to work will play more with this later.
    15" MBP 8 gigs o ram 256 gig SSD in drivebay + 256 gig 5400 HD
    1000HE EEE 30 gig SSD 2 gigs Ram

  2. #2
    Developer muts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    272

    Default Metasploit 3.1 and ruby GTK

    I've hacked up the ruby deps needed for msf 3.1. Please test and report back.
    These modules have been added to CVS for BackTrack 3 final.

    http://www.offensive-security.com/downloads.php

  3. #3

    Default

    Nicely done will check this out ASAP! thank you.
    Quick start up and everything looks good so far. will post more once I test some things out.

    OK I may have messed somethings up.
    I downloaded the ruby-gnome-all-0.16.0.lzm
    lzm2dir ruby-gnome-all-0.16.0.lzm /

    and from there went to where I had already installed metaploit-3.1
    from last night.
    tar -zxvf framework-3.1.tar.gz
    mv framework-3.1/ /pentest/exploits/
    from there msfgui and other commands work


    I also tried out the framework31.lzm
    lzm2dir framework31.lzm /
    cd /pentest/exploits/framework3
    Code:
    bt framework3 # msfgui
    ./lib/msf/core/module/platform.rb:60:in `find_platform': No classes in Msf::Module::Platform::Windows for are! (ArgumentError)
            from ./lib/msf/core/module/platform_list.rb:50:in `initialize'
            from ./lib/msf/core/module/platform_list.rb:48:in `each'
            from ./lib/msf/core/module/platform_list.rb:48:in `initialize'
            from ./lib/msf/core/module/platform_list.rb:39:in `new'
            from ./lib/msf/core/module/platform_list.rb:39:in `from_a'
            from ./lib/msf/core/module/platform_list.rb:31:in `transform'
            from ./lib/msf/core/module.rb:116:in `initialize'
            from ./lib/msf/core/payload.rb:59:in `initialize'
             ... 14 levels...
            from ./lib/msf/base/simple/framework.rb:71:in `create'
            from ./lib/msf/ui/gtk2/driver.rb:62:in `initialize'
            from ./msfgui:71:in `new'
            from ./msfgui:71
    so long story short the ruby-gnome2-all-0.16.0.lzm worked like a charm in my case and the framework31.lzm did not but possibly cause of something I did on my end?
    15" MBP 8 gigs o ram 256 gig SSD in drivebay + 256 gig 5400 HD
    1000HE EEE 30 gig SSD 2 gigs Ram

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO 773451's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Very nice! I think I'll give it a shot too. Thanks.
    We’ve heard that a million monkeys at a million keyboards could produce the complete works of Shakespeare; now, thanks to the Internet, we know that is not true. –Robert Wilensky

  5. #5
    Phillyblonds
    Guest

    Default solution perhaps

    I dont know why some cant get metasploit 3.1 working, it works fine here.

    i just deleted the previous one and moved the new uppdated one in its place and in menu editor i corrected the path, everything works great .

    if anyone has problem with MsfWeb being too laggy, thats because of Firefox.
    something in Firefox is screwing with it, dont know why .

    I tried another browser Konqueror and its smooth like silk, ofcourse the broswer did not show automatically like in windows, i had to copy the link and paste it into the browser, atleast no more laggs on the web

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default Minor irritation here...

    I have gone through many iterations of installing ruby packages to no avail.

    I'm using VMware, so I took a snapshot, then I downloaded and installed ruby-gtk2-0.16.0.lzm, ruby-libglade2-0.16.0.lzm and framework31.lzm and that didn't work.

    So I reverted and grabbed muts's ruby-gnome-all-0.16.0.lzm with framework31.lzm and that didn't work.

    I reverted again and used ruby-gnome-all-0.16.0.lzm with framework-31.tar.gz which also did not work.

    Finally, I tried installing ruby-gtk2-0.16.0.lzm, ruby-libglade2-0.16.0.lzm and framework-31.tar.gz and STILL when I attempt to start msfgui I still get the error message "The msfgui interface requires the ruby-gtk2 and ruby-libglade package."

    Will someone please point out the obvious thing that I'm overlooking...?

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default

    with the ruby.lzm and the framework-3.1.tar ive gotten the gui to run. but on a selection of an exploit the gui will crash with out an error msg.

  8. #8
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    Muts's .lzm's did not work for me on a hard drive install however they do work on a usb install and they also work perfectly if add them to the modules folder and reburn a new .iso.

  9. #9
    Member elazar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    217

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wicked View Post
    with the ruby.lzm and the framework-3.1.tar ive gotten the gui to run. but on a selection of an exploit the gui will crash with out an error msg.
    I managed to fix this by building the dependencies from the latest ruby-gnome2 sources. Try this:

    Code:
     svn co https://ruby-gnome2.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/ruby-gnome2/ruby-gnome2/trunk[/url] 
    ruby-gnome2
    
    ruby extconf.rb
    
    cd atk
    make
    make install
    cd ..
    
    cd gdkpixbuf
    make
    make install
    cd ..
    
    cd glib
    make
    make install
    cd ..
    
    cd gtk
    make
    make install
    cd ..
    
    cd libglade
    make
    make install
    cd ..
    
    cd pango
    make
    make install
    cd ..
    Elazar
    dd if=/dev/urandom of=/mybrain

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •