Thread: 3 little problems on BT3b (HDD-install already done)

Just burned his ISO

Default 3 little problems on BT3b (HDD-install already done)

hi!

i'm really new to backtrack/linux and i installed it to HDD on a dual boot system (xp+bt).
    almost everything works for me (not tested every prog...)! but there are some details i would like to fix.
    for example the problem with the not mounted bt-partition is already fixed by me (thx to this forum!).

1. is it possible to automatically log in (root+toor) and automatically boot into KDE (xconf+startx)? is this done by the "syslinux.cfg"? this config is just on the bt-cd. it is not at the installed bt directories.

2. how can i deactivate pcmcia? i don't need it and so i can save some ressources.

3. when i tested the live-cd and quitted it, there were options like "shut down" and so on... at the installed version of backtrack there is only "end current session". when i coose this, bt wents to the "dos-promt" (<- sorry if this is the wrong term on linux. is it called "bash"?).

i hope someone can help me.

Developer

1.If you do not like the command line logon and want the KDE desktop to start automatically.

nano /etc/inittab

change the following line:

id:3:initdefault:

to

id:4:initdefault:

2. http://backtrack.offensive-security....dex.php/Cheats -there are a variety of boot codes which can be enterd at start up or added to your lilo.conf

3. I'm not sure mine says shut down. Try updating your distro with slapt-get. There is a section in bug and fix which goes over fixing slapt-get

To answer question 3, the reason why this "problem" of yours is happening is because:

When you boot with this: id:3:initdefault:
    Then you will allways only have the option to end the session, when you are out in the
    console, just write poweroff and bam! Your computer is just beginning to power off! :O
    If you would like a restart, write "restart" without quotes. (or maybe it was reboot)..