Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: help with Kismet and -deauth

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default help with Kismet and -deauth

    when i run Kismet from the Graphique interface of Backtrack the command window opens and closes right away and when I run the command "kismet" from the command window manually I get error msg saying

    Server options: none
    Client options: none
    Starting server...
    Waiting for server to start before starting UI...
    Suid priv-dropping disabled. This may not be secure.
    No specific sources given to be enabled, all will be enabled.
    Enabling channel hopping.
    Enabling channel splitting.
    NOTICE: Disabling channel hopping, no enabled sources are able to change channel.
    Source 0 (addme): Opening none source interface none...
    FATAL: Please configure at least one packet source. Kismet will not function if no packet sources are defined in kismet.conf or on the command line. Please read the README for more information about configuring Kismet.
    Kismet exiting.

    ____________________
    as for -deauth
    when I run command

    aireplay-ng -0 anth1(my wireless device) -a "the mac of the device i want to crack" anth1

    i get error msg saying index number is wrong

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    search your /etc/kismet/kismet.conf

    find the line called "sources"
    edit with your card and uncomment it.

    Next, restart kismet

    This happens because kismet doesn't know what your card is.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -=Xploitz=- View Post
    search your /etc/kismet/kismet.conf

    find the line called "sources"
    edit with your card and uncomment it.

    Next, restart kismet

    This happens because kismet doesn't know what your card is.

    what about my -0 "deauth" command line not working

  4. #4
    Member muminrz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    64

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xaser View Post
    when i run Kismet from the Graphique interface of Backtrack the command window opens and closes right away and when I run the command "kismet" from the command window manually I get error msg saying

    Server options: none
    Client options: none
    Starting server...
    Waiting for server to start before starting UI...
    Suid priv-dropping disabled. This may not be secure.
    No specific sources given to be enabled, all will be enabled.
    Enabling channel hopping.
    Enabling channel splitting.
    NOTICE: Disabling channel hopping, no enabled sources are able to change channel.
    Source 0 (addme): Opening none source interface none...
    FATAL: Please configure at least one packet source. Kismet will not function if no packet sources are defined in kismet.conf or on the command line. Please read the README for more information about configuring Kismet.
    Kismet exiting.

    ____________________
    as for -deauth
    when I run command

    aireplay-ng -0 anth1(my wireless device) -a "the mac of the device i want to crack" anth1

    i get error msg saying index number is wrong
    Try

    aireplay-ng -0 10 -a MAC-OF-AP -c MAC-OF-CONNECTED-CLIENT-2-AP anth1 this will disconnect connected client

    Then try
    aireplay-ng -1 0 -a MAC-OF-AP -h YOUR-MAC anth1


    Then try

    aireplay-ng -3 -b MAC-OF-AP -h YOUR-MAC anth1

  5. #5
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xaser View Post
    FATAL: Please configure at least one packet source. Kismet will not function if no packet sources are defined in kismet.conf or on the command line. Please read the README for more information about configuring Kismet.
    Kismet exiting.
    Error messages are there for a reason!
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

  6. #6
    setas
    Guest

    Default

    not sure which, but a file somewhere should be replaced with this

    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    # This has been combined out of own start-kismet scripts and airmon-ng stuff
    
    IFACE=""
    KISMET=/usr/local/etc/kismet.conf
    CH=$3; [ x$3 = "x" ] && CH=10
    DEVCOUNT=0;
    # Some global variable to keep structure clean inside script
    
    which iwpriv > /dev/null 2> /dev/null || 
      { echo Wireless tools not found ; exit ; }
    
    
    function startStdIface() {
    	iwconfig $1 mode monitor 2> /dev/null >/dev/null
    	iwconfig $1 channel $2 2> /dev/null >/dev/null
    	iwconfig $1 key off 2> /dev/null >/dev/null
    	ifconfig $1 up
    	echo -n " (monitor mode enabled)"
    }
    
    
    function stopStdIface() {
    	ifconfig $1 down 2> /dev/null >/dev/null
    	iwconfig $1 mode Managed 2> /dev/null >/dev/null
    	ifconfig $1 down 2> /dev/null >/dev/null
    	echo -n " (monitor mode disabled)"
    }
    
    # Here begins the main program and detection routine
    for iface in `ifconfig -a 2>/dev/null | egrep HWaddr | cut -b 1-7`
    do
     if [ -e "/proc/sys/dev/$iface/fftxqmin" ]
     then
        ifconfig $iface up
        #echo -e -n "$iface\t\tAtheros\t\tmadwifi-ng"       
        A_WLAN_MENU="$A_WLAN_MENU $iface,madwifi_ab $iface"
        DEVCOUNT=$[$DEVCOUNT+1];
        continue
     fi
    done
    
    sleep 1s
    
    for iface in `iwconfig 2>/dev/null | egrep '(RT73|unassociated|IEEE|ESSID|802\.11)' | cut -b 1-7 | grep -v -w wifi`
    do
     if [ x"`iwpriv $iface 2>/dev/null | grep force_reset`" != "x" ]
     then
        #echo -e -n "$iface\t\tHermesI\t\torinoco"
        A_WLAN_MENU="$A_WLAN_MENU $iface,orinoco $iface"
        DEVCOUNT=$[$DEVCOUNT+1];
        continue
     fi
    
    
     if [ x"`iwpriv $iface 2>/dev/null | grep set_crc_check`" != "x" ]
     then
        #echo -e -n "$iface\t\tCentrino b\tipw2100"
        A_WLAN_MENU="$A_WLAN_MENU $iface,ipw2100 $iface"
        DEVCOUNT=$[$DEVCOUNT+1];
        continue
     fi
    
    
     if [ x"`iwpriv $iface 2>/dev/null | grep sw_reset`" != "x" ]
     then
    	#echo -e -n "$iface\t\tCentrino b/g\tipw2200"
    	A_WLAN_MENU="$A_WLAN_MENU $iface,ipw2200 $iface"
    	DEVCOUNT=$[$DEVCOUNT+1];
            echo
            continue
     fi
    
     if [ x"`iwpriv $iface 2>/dev/null | grep get_param | grep -v set_crc_check`" != "x" ]
      then
    #        echo -e -n "$iface\t\tCentrino b/g\tipw3945"
        	A_WLAN_MENU="$A_WLAN_MENU $iface,ipw3945 $iface"
    	DEVCOUNT=$[$DEVCOUNT+1];
            echo
            continue
     fi
    
     if [ x"`iwpriv $iface 2>/dev/null | grep ipwraw-ng | grep -v set_crc_check`" != "x" ]
      then
    #        echo -e -n "$iface\t\tCentrino b/g\tipw3945"
        	A_WLAN_MENU="$A_WLAN_MENU $iface,ipw3945 $iface"
    	DEVCOUNT=$[$DEVCOUNT+1];
            echo
            continue
     fi
     if [ x"`iwpriv $iface 2>/dev/null | grep inact_auth`" != "x" ]
     then
         #echo -e -n "$iface\t\tAtheros\t\tmadwifi"
         A_WLAN_MENU="$A_WLAN_MENU $iface,madwifi_ag $iface"
         DEVCOUNT=$[$DEVCOUNT+1];
         continue
     fi
    
    
     if [ x"`iwpriv $iface 2>/dev/null | grep getPolicy`" != "x" ]
     then
         #echo -e -n "$iface\t\tPrismGT\t\tprism54"
         A_WLAN_MENU="$A_WLAN_MENU $iface,prism54g $iface"
         DEVCOUNT=$[$DEVCOUNT+1];
         continue
     fi
    
     if [ x"`iwpriv $iface 2>/dev/null | grep antsel_rx`" != "x" ]
     then
         #echo -e -n "$iface\t\tPrism2\t\tHostAP"
         A_WLAN_MENU="$A_WLAN_MENU $iface,hostap $iface"
         DEVCOUNT=$[$DEVCOUNT+1];
         continue
     fi
    
    
     if [ x"`wlancfg show $iface 2>/dev/null | grep p2CnfWEPFlags`" != "x" ]
     then
         echo -e -n "$iface\t\tPrism2\t\twlan-ng"
         A_WLAN_MENU="$A_WLAN_MENU $iface,wlanng $iface"
         DEVCOUNT=$[$DEVCOUNT+1];
         continue
     fi
    
    CHECK_RT73=`iwconfig 2>/dev/null| grep RT73| awk '{ print $2 }'`
    
    if [ -n "${CHECK_RT73}"  ]
    then
    
               if [ $CHECK_RT73 != "RT73" ]
         
               then
    
                    if [ x"`iwpriv $iface 2>/dev/null | grep bbp`" != "x" ]
     
                    then
        
                         echo -e -n "$iface\t\tRalink b/g\trt2500"
                         A_WLAN_MENU="$A_WLAN_MENU $iface,rt2500 $iface"
                        DEVCOUNT=$[$DEVCOUNT+1];
                        continue
                    fi
             fi
    fi
    
     if [ x"`iwpriv $iface 2>/dev/null | grep wpapsk`" != "x" ] && [ x"`iwpriv $iface 2>/dev/null | grep get_RaAP_Cfg`" = "x" ]
     then
         echo -e -n "$iface\t\tRalink USB\trt2570"
         A_WLAN_MENU="$A_WLAN_MENU $iface,rt2570 $iface"
         DEVCOUNT=$[$DEVCOUNT+1];
         continue
     fi
    
    
     if [ x"`iwpriv $iface 2>/dev/null | grep debugtx`" != "x" ]
     then
         echo -e -n "$iface\t\tRTL8180\t\tr8180"
         A_WLAN_MENU="$A_WLAN_MENU $iface,rt8180 $iface"
         DEVCOUNT=$[$DEVCOUNT+1];
         continue
     fi
    
     if [ x"`iwpriv $iface 2>/dev/null | grep badcrc`" != "x" ]
     then
         echo -e -n "$iface\t\tRTL8187\t\tr8187"
         A_WLAN_MENU="$A_WLAN_MENU $iface,rt8180 $iface"
         DEVCOUNT=$[$DEVCOUNT+1];
         continue
     fi
    
    if [ x"`iwpriv $iface 2>/dev/null | grep dbg_flag`" != "x" ]
     then
         echo -e -n "$iface\t\tZyDAS\t\tzd1211"
         A_WLAN_MENU="$A_WLAN_MENU $iface,zd1211 $iface"
         DEVCOUNT=$[$DEVCOUNT+1];
         continue
     fi
    
    
     if [ x"`iwpriv $iface 2>/dev/null | grep GetAcx1`" != "x" ]
     then
         echo -e -n "$iface\t\tTI\t\tacx111"
         A_WLAN_MENU="$A_WLAN_MENU $iface,acx100 $iface"
         DEVCOUNT=$[$DEVCOUNT+1];
         continue
     fi
    
     if [ x"`iwpriv $iface 2>/dev/null | grep write_sprom`" != "x" ]
     then
         echo -e -n "$iface\t\tBroadcom\t\tbcm43xx"
         A_WLAN_MENU="$A_WLAN_MENU $iface,bcm43xx $iface"
         DEVCOUNT=$[$DEVCOUNT+1];
         continue
     fi
    
     if [ x"`iwpriv $iface 2>/dev/null | grep set_announcedpkt`" != "x" ]
     then
         echo -e -n "$iface\t\tPrismGT\t\tislsm"
         A_WLAN_MENU="$A_WLAN_MENU $iface,prism54g $iface"
         DEVCOUNT=$[$DEVCOUNT+1];
         continue
     fi
    
    
    if [ x"`iwpriv $iface 2>/dev/null | grep set_announcedpkt`" != "x" ]
      then
         echo -e -n "$iface\t\tAtmel\t\tat76c503a"
         A_WLAN_MENU="$A_WLAN_MENU $iface,atmel_usb $iface"
         DEVCOUNT=$[$DEVCOUNT+1];
         continue
    fi
    
    if [ x"`iwpriv $iface 2>/dev/null | grep get_RaAP_Cfg`" != "x" ]
     then
        if [ x"`iwconfig $iface | grep ESSID | awk -F\  '{ print $2}' | grep -i rt61`" != "x" ]
        then
            echo -e -n "$iface\t\tRalink b/g rt61"
            A_WLAN_MENU="$A_WLAN_MENU $iface,rt2500 $iface"
            DEVCOUNT=$[$DEVCOUNT+1];
            continue
        fi
        if [ x"`iwconfig $iface | egrep '(ESSID|RT73)' | awk -F\  '{ print $2}' | grep -i rt73`" != "x" ]
        then
            echo -e -n "$iface\t\tRalink USB rt73"
            A_WLAN_MENU="$A_WLAN_MENU $iface,rt73 $iface"
            DEVCOUNT=$[$DEVCOUNT+1];
            continue
        fi
    fi
    
    
     if [ x"`iwpriv $iface 2>/dev/null | grep ndis_reset`" != "x" ]
     then
         echo -e -n "$iface\t\tUnknown\t\tndiswrapper"
         if [ x$2 = x$iface ]
         then
             echo -e " (MONITOR MODE NOT SUPPORTED)"
         fi
         echo
         continue
     fi
    
    
    echo -e "$iface\t\tUnknown\t\tUnknown (MONITOR MODE NOT SUPPORTED)"
    
    
    done
    
    
    # this one is displaying the dialog and get the value out of it
    
    if [ $DEVCOUNT -eq 0 ]
    then
    	echo
    	echo Sorry i could not identify any wlan interfaced
    	echo i will exit now
    	echo 
    	exit
    elif [ $DEVCOUNT -gt 1 ]
    then
    	A_ASKINTERFACE=`kdialog --caption "Select network device" --title "" --menu "There is more than one network adapter available, please choose which one to use" $A_WLAN_MENU 2>&1` 
    
    	if [ -z $A_ASKINTERFACE ]
    	then
    		echo 
    		echo Sorry you did not select anyhting, i exit now
    		echo
    		exit
    	else 
    		iface=`echo $A_ASKINTERFACE | cut -d "," -f 1`
    	fi
    fi
    
    cp -f /usr/local/etc/kismet.conf.backtrack /usr/local/etc/kismet.conf
    cp -f /usr/local/etc/kismet.conf.backtrack /usr/local/etc/kismet.conf~
    
    eval "/usr/local/sbin/airmon-ng start $iface"
    sleep 2
    
    if [ $DEVCOUNT -gt 1 ]
    then
    
    DRP_DEVICE_NAME=`echo ${A_ASKINTERFACE}|cut -d, -f1`
    
    
    DRP_DRIVER_NAME=`echo ${A_ASKINTERFACE} | cut -d , -f2| awk -F' ' '{print $1}'`
    
    
    konsole -e kismet -c $DRP_DRIVER_NAME,$DRP_DEVICE_NAME,$DRP_DRIVER_NAME
    
    else 
    DRP_DEVICE_NAME=`echo ${A_WLAN_MENU}|cut -d, -f1`
    
    DRP_DRIVER_NAME=`echo ${A_WLAN_MENU} | cut -d , -f2| awk -F' ' '{print $1}'`
    
    konsole -e kismet -c $DRP_DRIVER_NAME,$DRP_DEVICE_NAME,$DRP_DRIVER_NAME
    fi

    can't remember what file.. but i found di source in this forum and it helped to me.. if i remember well the file was of *.sh type not a kismet.conf ... i had the exact error output of kismet so thats why i responding here..

    sorry, but this is i can help so far..

    edit: it is likely that the file is named start-kismet-ng .

    edit2: i have found the original post . due to low post amount i can't post a link here, but i can forward you to a search page of this forum and offer to make a query of "usr/local/bin/start-kismet-ng Bug Fixed!! " nice

  7. #7
    Junior Member greyspace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Hi xaser;

    I have the same error message too:

    Hi -=Xploitz=-:
    bt etc # cd kismet
    -bash: cd: kismet: No such file or directory

    Hint -=Xploitz=-, I am using your torrent DVD, and I love it!!!!!!!!!!!

    Hi theprez98:
    Since, I can't find my Kismet directory, you can only imagine how hard it must be for me to edit a file in a directory that I don't have.

    Hi setas:
    If I knew how to chmod a file and run it, I assume that the batch file might work;
    however, if it totally messed up my install, I wouldn't know how to fix it.
    I have to play it safe.

    Ok, I have to prove to you that I searched googled or tried to find an answer on my own, no problem. This is what I have found.

    http://shilo.is-a-geek.com/slack/search3.html
    touch /var/lib/slocate/slocate.db
    updatedb&
    slocate kismet
    # output
    /pentest/svn/kismet-devel
    /pentest/svn/kismet-devel/conf/kismet.conf.in
    /usr/local/etc/kismet_ui.conf
    /mnt/sda2/usr/share/pixmaps/gtali/kismet6.svg

    I only picked 3 lines from the three major directories in total the list was over 500 lines.

    bt / # slocate kismet | grep readme
    # output
    [1]+ Done updatedb

    I assume, that i'll look back after a year of this, and i'll laugh, ;-)

    Thank you for any advice that you can offer in advance.

    Greyspace

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •