Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23

Thread: How to "Restore All Of Your Sessions" on BT3 like it did in BT2!!

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by merlin051 View Post
    Something must have went screwy the first time, re-did the above steps and not getting that error anymore. However when booting up I'm not getting the windows i had open previously in the same place/settings. For example, i opened a shell with 3 tabs, added txt to each of them. on poweroff then turning back on again the shell just opens as normal without any changes.

    I've checked the ksmserverrc is still showing

    strange i think...

    gonna have a play will let ya know what(if) i figure out
    Well, thats good news indeed! But however..I just edited my post because I noticed I left out an important piece of info merlin051.

    When I said ....

    Quote Originally Posted by -=Xploitz
    go to that file and open it up with Kwrite or whatever and go to the line called

    loginMode=default

    change that to...guess what

    Thats right!!! You change it to......

    loginMode=restorePreviousLogout

    Now save and exit.

    So simple!!!!

    Go ahead and open up a couple of shell windows, a text document...and leave it all up. Now logoff and reboot, and tell me what you see now??
    For now on, when you logoff and you have multiple windows opened at the same time...they'll be "automagically" restored to the SAME EXACT position, and whatever you had opened before you logged off will be right there waiting on you!!

    I forgot to mention you need to reboot first after you save the file!!!!

    So I edited my above command to reflect this. Please try again but do this instead>>>>


    go to that file and open it up with Kwrite or whatever and go to the line called

    loginMode=default

    change that to...guess what

    Thats right!!! You change it to......

    loginMode=restorePreviousLogout

    Now save and exit AND REBOOT!!!!

    So simple!!!!

    AFTER REBOOT>> Go ahead and open up a couple of shell windows, a text document...and leave it all up. Now logoff and reboot, and tell me what you see now??
    For now on, when you logoff and you have multiple windows opened at the same time...they'll be "automagically" restored to the SAME EXACT position, and whatever you had opened before you logged off will be right there waiting on you!!




    Please retry and report back merlin051. Sorry for leaving that out. It should work perfectly now.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  2. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    204

    Default

    Nope, i did save and exit then re-start the first time.

    just repeated the whole process again and its not saving the windows on reboot.

    ksmserverrc is still showing loginmode=restorepreviousslogout, it just doesnt seem to be doing anything.

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by merlin051 View Post
    Nope, i did save and exit then re-start the first time.

    just repeated the whole process again and its not saving the windows on reboot.

    ksmserverrc is still showing loginmode=restorepreviousslogout, it just doesnt seem to be doing anything.

    One last thing....you just said....loginmode=restorepreviousslogout

    not loginMode=restorePreviousLogout

    Those have to be capitalized.


    Also, I did do one other thing. I don't know if it matters or not,..but I also transfered the the rc.6 txt file from my BT2 install over to my BT3 install located in my /etc/rc.d directory. That was to fix a logoff/ poweroff bug in unmounting your hdd's..maybe it plays a role here??

    I took the liberty to upload it to mediafire for you and the others. Heres the link. >>>>>

    http://www.mediafire.com/?copwexmk1yw

    Might try to "overwrite your bt3 rc.6 file with my bt2 rc.6 file.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  4. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    204

    Default

    All my caps were ok, i was just being lazy typing it out on here. One thing i will point out is that the default loginMode=restorePreviousLogout was in lower case, changing to upper case solved nothing.

    gonna try your rc.6 now, but i dont think that will help, as my drives seem to un-mount fine.

  5. #15
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Hello I followed your first instructions and it worked first time on my usb install thanks

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by merlin051 View Post
    All my caps were ok, i was just being lazy typing it out on here. One thing i will point out is that the default loginMode=restorePreviousLogout was in lower case, changing to upper case solved nothing.

    gonna try your rc.6 now, but i dont think that will help, as my drives seem to un-mount fine.
    Again, sorry for the trouble. I don't know if the file will help out or not, but...you never know.

    Hopefully I can get pureh@te and a couple other people who use usb installs with changes to try this out to confirm and fix this problem. Works fine on HDD installs though. That much I know for sure.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by driller View Post
    Hello I followed your first instructions and it worked first time on my usb install thanks
    Well speak of the devil!!!

    Hi ya there driller! I'm so very VERY glad it worked for you with your usb install. That lets me know that this method works with USB installs as well. GREAT NEWS!! And thanks for taking the time out to let me / us know you got it working. VERY Kool!!!


    But...now we also know that it must be something merlin051 is or isn't doing or possibly his USB setup....HHHmmmmm

    Merlin,......what type of setup EXACTLY do you have? What kind of USB install did you use. You to driller. What USB install did you use as well?? Ext2...Ext3...etc...and what Laptops are you guys using??

    I really want to know so I / we can help out merlin051 to get his sessions to restore on boot-up as well.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  8. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    204

    Default

    Ok, I'm using a Dell insp1300

    The usb live install wiht changes i'm using is fat32/ext2 with changes=/dev/sda2 in the APPEND line, i have no problem saving changes.

    One thing I've noticed is, when editing the ksmserverrc and making the required changes, i can reboot and it seems to reboot with the settings I've made and theyre still there after reboot, so i know i've edited that right, i do not encounter any errors(anymore)

    This is the code from my ksmserverrc, looking at this, this is the settings its loading on startup, it just doesnt seem to be saving my settings, and just loading its own instead, as kmix is running on startup using these settings. I'm gonna try deleteing the [Session: saved at previous logout] and see if it will overwrite with its own. Ok that didnt work, just it loads with default settings without any sessions saved
    Code:
    [$Version]
    update_info=ksmserver.upd:kde3
    
    [General]
    confirmLogout=true
    excludeApps=
    loginMode=restorePreviousLogout
    offerShutdown=true
    screenCount=1
    shutdownType=0
    
    [LegacySession: saved at previous logout]
    count=0
    
    [Session: saved at previous logout]
    clientId1=10736c6178000117871092200000072420000
    clientId2=10736c6178000117871092500000072420008
    clientId3=10736c6178000117871092500000072420007
    count=3
    discardCommand1=rm,$HOME/.kde/share/config/session/kwin_10736c6178000117871092200000072420000_1197077640_561107
    discardCommand2=rm,$HOME/.kde/share/config/session/kmix_10736c6178000117871092500000072420008_1197077640_535957
    discardCommand3=
    program1=kwin
    program2=kmix
    program3=krandrtray
    restartCommand1=kwin,-session,10736c6178000117871092200000072420000_1197077640_561107
    restartCommand2=kmix,-session,10736c6178000117871092500000072420008_1197077640_535957
    restartCommand3=krandrtray,-session,10736c6178000117871092500000072420007_1197077640_559512
    restartStyleHint1=0
    restartStyleHint2=0
    restartStyleHint3=0
    userId1=root
    userId2=root
    userId3=root

  9. #19
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    11

    Default

    asus notebook M7V

    usb live install with save changes same as merlins execpt mine is on a 2gb stick not 8gb

    LABEL pchanges
    MENU LABEL BT3 Graphics mode with Persistent Changes
    KERNEL /boot/vmlinuz
    APPEND vga=0x317 initrd=/boot/initrd.gz ramdisk_size=6666 root=/dev/ram0 rw changes=/mnt/sdb2 load=nvidia,cubez autoexec=xconf;cubez;startx

  10. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    204

    Default

    Hmm you have your changes set up as changes=/mnt/sdb2 where as mine is changes=/dev/sdb2. I changed mine to 'mnt' instead of dev and still having no luck with it. although kmix loads everytime on startup now along with the Kwin desktop manager.

    Mine is loading the saved ksmserverrc settings(the default ones) its just not saving any.

    ksmserverrc is the file its supposed to save them into right?

    I'm wondering if there is any read-only rights or something allocated to it....

    Quote Originally Posted by driller View Post
    asus notebook M7V

    usb live install with save changes same as merlins execpt mine is on a 2gb stick not 8gb

    LABEL pchanges
    MENU LABEL BT3 Graphics mode with Persistent Changes
    KERNEL /boot/vmlinuz
    APPEND vga=0x317 initrd=/boot/initrd.gz ramdisk_size=6666 root=/dev/ram0 rw changes=/mnt/sdb2 load=nvidia,cubez autoexec=xconf;cubez;startx

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •