Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: BT3 for idiots

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default BT3 for idiots

    I now have a live cd that opens to BT3. Now i'm lost on how to open the shell that has all the tools like I have seen in the vidieo's? Does anyone have a step by step from actually booting up BT3? Most of the vidieo's BT3 is up and running already. I cant figure out where to type startx to ope the KDE window. When I boot the cd BT3 opens up and has a taskbar on the bottom of the screen Left-menu icon opens different functions to right two boxes 1 and 2. flag, power cord. Would someone please help me?

  2. #2
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by procraft7399 View Post
    I now have a live cd that opens to BT3. Now i'm lost on how to open the shell that has all the tools like I have seen in the vidieo's? Does anyone have a step by step from actually booting up BT3? Most of the vidieo's BT3 is up and running already. I cant figure out where to type startx to ope the KDE window. When I boot the cd BT3 opens up and has a taskbar on the bottom of the screen Left-menu icon opens different functions to right two boxes 1 and 2. flag, power cord. Would someone please help me?
    Yes, stop trying to use BT.

    Go, grab a userfriendly Linux distro and learn the Linux basics.
    If not, you won't manage to get anything done in BT.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  3. #3
    Member hawaii67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    318

    Default Wtf??

    It should be said that bt3 is no klicker-di-klicker-di-klack windows-like toy.
    Bt3 requires to have at least basic linux knowledge. If you cannot start the X-window system of bt3 (which has nothing to do with MS Windows) means you just have no linux know-how at all.
    Don't eat yellow snow :rolleyes:

  4. #4
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default

    Call me a spoonfeeder. There is a little black box in the bottom left corner next to the blue box with a K in it. This will open a terminal. The other fellows are right though with out a cursory knowledge of Linux this distro is probably WAY over your head.

  5. #5
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    pureh@te is a spoonfeeder *point*

    You are have been in quite a good mood lately, haven't you ?
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  6. #6
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KMDave View Post
    pureh@te is a spoonfeeder *point*

    You are have been in quite a good mood lately, haven't you ?
    That's because he has Oprah streaming to his BT3 Desktop.
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  7. #7
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by streaker69 View Post
    That's because he has Oprah streaming to his BT3 Desktop.
    Oh ok, I see.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  8. #8
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by streaker69 View Post
    That's because he has Oprah streaming to his BT3 Desktop.
    LMAO

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    @InterN0T
    Posts
    315

    Default

    And if it has to be really hard then there's the little field where you can write things in..
    Try write: konsole

    You can also go to the start menu / kmenu and then utilities -> konsole.
    You can also go to Run Command.. and then write konsole ......

    And you can also do as pureh@te said.

    So now you got 4 different ways of opening console :O

    PS: If you are really leet and your keyboard shortcut works, then you can press F4 too i think
    [quote][I]I realized, that I had fallen down from the top of the mountain into a deep, terrifying and dark hole, just to find out that another mountain in front of me, much greater than the previous, was the next step in life. I began to wander uphill on the next mountain of life while I knew it would be much harder than the previous mountain. [/I]- MaXe[/quote]

  10. #10
    Member The_Denv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    364

    Default

    Honestly the title made me laugh and put a smile to my face, seriously

    It made me think of creating a PDF 'Back|Track for Idiots' [Instead of 'For Dummies']. It could work....all starting at Chapter1: Terminal for Idiots.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •