Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: configuring network interfaces... hangs

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member Valkyrie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    49

    Default configuring network interfaces... hangs

    Hi,

    Using BT4 hdd install on vmware.
    After configuring the /etc/network/interface file and running the update defaults for networking and ssh.

    I restart and startup hangs @ "configuring network interfaces..."

    Contents of my /etc/network/interface file:

    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp

    auto wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet dhcp
    Anyone know how to fix?
    Last edited by Valkyrie; 02-04-2010 at 03:13 PM.

  2. #2
    Junior Member creepykrawler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    56

    Default Re: configuring network interfaces... hangs

    When you say restart do you mean restarting networking services? Or restarting the machine?

    What happens if you just run:

    ifconfig eth0 up
    dhclient eth0

    Does it hang then?
    "Failing to plan is planning to fail"

  3. #3
    Junior Member Valkyrie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: configuring network interfaces... hangs

    Quote Originally Posted by creepykrawler View Post
    When you say restart do you mean restarting networking services? Or restarting the machine?

    What happens if you just run:

    ifconfig eth0 up
    dhclient eth0

    Does it hang then?
    hi,

    I mean as in, when the virtual machine is booting up, before it gives me the option to login as root.
    This is after I ran the ...update rc-d. defaultss for networking and ssh", as shown in networking tutorial in 'how to' section.
    Couple times it takes so long and Login doesnt come up, I've just closed or alt+ctrl+delete to restart. Its really annoying.
    One stage tonight I booted up- it took almost 15 minutes to get to the BTlogin...it did eventually get there tho.
    Last edited by Valkyrie; 02-05-2010 at 05:09 PM.

  4. #4
    Junior Member creepykrawler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    56

    Default Re: configuring network interfaces... hangs

    Can you remove the network config from your VM guest. Then reboot and see if it takes that long. Trying to see if it is something with the Vmware. Also, are you setting it up as a bridged connection?
    "Failing to plan is planning to fail"

  5. #5
    Junior Member Valkyrie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: configuring network interfaces... hangs

    Have tried Bridged and NAT..

    Screenshot (just noticed also says something about blacklisted)

    http://img695.imageshack.us/img695/7...al20100207.png

    http://img191.imageshack.us/img191/7...al20100207.png

    Its also leading to more and more errors..very frustrating.

    Once booted...Im also getting a 'file protocol error', followed by wicd error when trying to start wicd + no wir
    eless networks found now..


    http://img403.imageshack.us/img403/4533/starterror.png

    http://img22.imageshack.us/img22/5877/wicderror.png



    Any experts out there have an answer??



    root@bt:~# iwlist scan

    lo Interface doesn't support scanning.

    eth0 Interface doesn't support scanning.

    wmaster0 Interface doesn't support scanning.

    wlan0 Interface doesn't support scanning : Device or resource busy



    root@bt:~# lshw -C network

    *-network
    description: Ethernet interface
    product: 79c970 [PCnet32 LANCE]
    vendor: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD]
    physical id: 1
    bus info: pci@0000:02:01.0
    logical name: eth0
    version: 10
    serial: 00:0c:29:4f:a1:36
    width: 32 bits
    clock: 33MHz
    capabilities: bus_master ethernet physical logical
    configuration: broadcast=yes driver=pcnet32 driverversion=1.35 latency=64 link=no maxlatency=255 mingnt=6 multicast=yes
    *-network
    description: Wireless interface
    physical id: 1
    logical name: wlan0
    serial: 00:00:ca:30:eb:e0
    capabilities: ethernet physical wireless
    configuration: broadcast=yes multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11bg


    root@bt:~# cat /etc/network/interfaces

    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp

    auto wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet dhcp



    root@bt:~# iwconfig

    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    wmaster0 no wireless extensions.

    wlan0 IEEE 802.11bg ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.417 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
    Tx-Power=27 dBm
    Retry min limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
    Encryption key:off
    Power Management:off
    Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0
    EDIT: ok fixed 1 of 3 errors I was receving.
    From looking on KDE forums I found that the start error is relating to my slow processor (1.7ghz). Once background picture was removed- that error no longer appeared
    http://img403.imageshack.us/img403/4533/starterror.png
    Last edited by Valkyrie; 02-07-2010 at 06:03 AM. Reason: fixed 1 of 3 errors so far..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •