Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: VM Workstation & BT Full Screen

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    23

    Default VM Workstation & BT Full Screen

    Hi,

    I had BT 4 R2 working in full screen then had a display problem that stopped the GUI from working - followed the forum posts and resolved it. Now BT won't go full screen. I'm new to this, and have tried fix-vesa and have VM set to Autofit Window & Guest, but still no full screen. Any help would be appreciated.

    Regards

  2. #2
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: VM Workstation & BT Full Screen

    You should try:
    Code:
    dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
    Or see if you can change resolution manually than if you can make a script to execute after startx in which you change resolution, also wait for BT to load and after it loads switch to full screen (after it loads the entire GUI that is).
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

  3. #3
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: VM Workstation & BT Full Screen

    I believe you need to edit the xorg.conf file and change the driver to "vmware". Quoting myself from another thread,
    Code:
    kate /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    Look for this line:
    Code:
    # **********************************************************************
    # Graphics device section
    #  **********************************************************************
    And replace the following lines (until endsection) by this:
    Code:
    Section "Device"
        Identifier    "VESA Framebuffer"
        Boardname    "vmware"
        Busid        "PCI:0:15:0"
        Driver        "vmware"
        Screen    0
    EndSection
    That should be it, logout, startx, wait a while, got to view > fit guest now (or resize your vmware window)

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: VM Workstation & BT Full Screen

    Thanks that worked.

    I'm now aware that I posted in the wrong section (sorry) and a huge thanks for taking the time to respond despite that!

    Regards

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: VM Workstation & BT Full Screen

    TY - worked for me too both in the reg Bt4 and the PWB image.

Similar Threads

  1. Full screen when using CLI under virtualbox!
    By MBG1987 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-28-2010, 06:50 PM
  2. VMWare Workstation: BT4 does not fill the screen
    By n95_8gb_guy in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-23-2009, 03:43 PM
  3. Remove KDE/Full screen login
    By drms0l0 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-19-2008, 02:54 PM
  4. Screen full of 99's
    By GileraGFR in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-31-2008, 01:40 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •