Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: BT3 usb boots but hangs at 'looking for data directory'

  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    32

    Default

    it doesn't start yet....

  2. #12
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default

    i've got the same problem. it just hangs on "looking for data directory" for like 10 minutes and then it goes to a blank, black screen. I'm actually booting it right now and it's just making noises like it's searching the cd and not really doing anything.

  3. #13
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JCasper View Post
    Have you added the shutdown commands to your rc.6 file? Not sure if that will help, but it did for me.
    how do you mean?

    i have no problem on startup because i followed a good tutorial, but i have problems with shutdown...
    "unmounting local filesystem" and system freez.
    WHY?

  4. #14
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    4

    Thumbs up fixed USB install

    This fixed my issue with a USB stick install as well.

    Thanks!

    Lacoste
    Quote Originally Posted by ragnaruk View Post
    [...]
    SOLVED,, well sorta,,,, incase you have been reading my diary here.I managed to fix the lag on boot problem by adding bt3 from=/dev/sdb1 to the pchanges APPEND line, I still have a hang problem on shutdown

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    74

    Default Try This

    Fix Shutdown Bug
    Some people report that when they shutdown Backtrack, the screen goes blank, but the power light remains on. If you are having this problem, then try the following:

    Using your favorite editor, add this line to /etc/rc.d/rc.6

    modprobe -r snd_hda_intel

    just before the line:

    echo "Unmounting local file systems."

    Now it reads:

    echo modprobe -r snd_hda_intel Unmounting local file systems

  6. #16
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    13

    Default

    is that right:
    # Unmount any NFS, SMB, or CIFS filesystems:
    echo modprobe -r snd_hda_intel "Unmounting remote filesystems."

    hasnt hda to be changed if system is installed on a 2.5" SATA USB?

  7. #17
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    15

    Default

    I appended the line bt3 from=/dev/sdb1
    and my files are in sdb1
    however all this line does is give me another line saying 'wait a while'
    and then it hangs like it used to for 5 min. anyone know a solution?

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by krispys View Post
    I appended the line bt3 from=/dev/sdb1
    and my files are in sdb1
    however all this line does is give me another line saying 'wait a while'
    and then it hangs like it used to for 5 min. anyone know a solution?
    Did you resolve the problem?

    thx bye

  9. #19
    Junior Member azagorath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    44

    Cool

    i have the same problem but from the CD.when i boot the CD it hang at looking for data directory. the same CD boot with no problem in my old machine .other linux versions also boot on my new machine no problem. only BT 3 and 2 CD dont wanna boot on my new machine.its really wierd
    Knowledge is Power

  10. #20
    Just burned his ISO su_pyrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    11

    Default ponder this

    SATA. if you have a sata harddrive, that is usually mounted as /dev/sda1 right??? well if the hard drive is mounted first then... the usb would be /dev/sdb1

    I noticed the live usb-stick hangs at this "looking for data directory" If the hard drive is sata on some systems. looking for for a cd... I also noticed, it you watch carefully... one or more cdrom drives will blink .. looking for data.. simply opening and closing the cdrom drive tray will usually help it along.... while the same usb-srick WILL boot if hardrive is "ide"

    "COMMON RESPONSES: "it only boots on my older systems...i dont know why"

    some systems have sata cdrom drives.. so it would move down the line... :
    harddrive = /dev/sda1
    cdrom = /dev/sdb1
    NOTE : USB cdrom drives count also.


    Code:
    APPEND bt3 from=/dev/sdc1
    ill show you an example: i use usb-stick on allot of different systems.. so i set up the

    /boot/syslinux/syslinux.cfg file like this so i can use it on most anything.

    NOTE: changes=/dev/sda2 is obviously the partition where all changes are kept.

    Code:
    LABEL xconf1
    MENU LABEL BT3 Graphics mode (KDE)
    KERNEL /boot/vmlinuz
    APPEND bt3 from=/dev/sda1 changes=/dev/sda2 vga=0x317  initrd=/boot/initrd.gz ramdisk_size=6666 root=/dev/ram0 rw autoexec=xconf;kdm
    
    LABEL xconf1
    MENU LABEL BT3 with 1 sata drive  (KDE)
    KERNEL /boot/vmlinuz
    APPEND bt3 from=/dev/sdb1 changes=/dev/sdb2 vga=0x317  initrd=/boot/initrd.gz ramdisk_size=6666 root=/dev/ram0 rw autoexec=xconf;kdm
    
    LABEL xconf1
    MENU LABEL BT3 with 2 sata drives  (KDE)
    KERNEL /boot/vmlinuz
    APPEND bt3 from=/dev/sdc1 changes=/dev/sdc2 vga=0x317  initrd=/boot/initrd.gz ramdisk_size=6666 root=/dev/ram0 rw autoexec=xconf;kdm

    hope this helps.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •