Thread: Ubiquiti SRX For Express Card Received and Reviewed - FAQ!

Hybrid View

Default Ubiquiti SRX For Express Card Received and Reviewed - FAQ!

Well today i received my Ubiquiti SRX from Data-alliance that is one of the first Long Range Express Card on the market.

Me and many others have wondered how this card works with Backtrack and if it is compability with the Madwifi drivers and backtrack.

But i must declare some things first before i start, and it is that i am NOT a Linux expert, i have quite little knowledge about Linux but i am interested and learning beside my school, ive try to use Kubuntu and Linux everyday when i need my computer becouse i like the challenge.

Okey so lets start the Review.

The Ubiquiti SRX card is a very small card "34", and comes with an antenna. In the package is a MiniCD with the drivers to Windows, dont know if there is Linux drivers but i suppose that it should be enough with the Madwifi drivers?
    There is not much more to say about the package becouse that is the only thing that was in it. But it is enough

__________________________________________________ __

Well is Ubiquiti Compitabel with backtrack then? Here i will list all problems i have found.
    NOTE: Only tested with BT3 beta Live CD.

1. Problem - Kernel problem?

I put in the Ubiquiti card in the Express Card slot, start the computer and run the live CD. Everything is going well until i get the mysterious error:
    Bank 0: b20000400000800
    Bank 5: b200121020080400
    Kernel panic - not syncing: CPU context corrupt
    Then Backtrack 3 Beta Live CD "hangs up" sorry bad english but it just frozen! And i have restart the computer.

My Questions to the Linux experts:
    1. Why is this happen?

Is there anyway to get around this?
    Well i figured out away to get it work, a very mysteries way but it works!
    Now listen carefully, directly after you seen in the boot:
    Auto configure IP adress for ath0: /sbin/dhcpcd -t 60 ath0 &