Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: ext3 on usb

  1. #1

    Default ext3 on usb

    I have followed puareh@te's video but when I go to install acronis right before it finishs it quits and says something went wrong. So is there away to use the terminal to make the ext3 partion on the usb through the terminal.

    I'm using 4gig flash drive and backtrack 3 iso image.

    Iv searched this, Thanks for the help. Iv tried gparted but I cant figure it out after I choose the language. Thanks
    Dell Inspiron E1705
    Geforce 7900 series graphics card
    2G of ram
    120G harddrive
    Dualcore

  2. #2
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    If you are running the bt live cd you can create your stick with terminal commands.

    So assuming it is sdb it would go

    bt~#umount /dev/sdb
    bt~#fdisk /dev/sbd

    n
    p
    1
    <enter>
    +1024M
    n
    p
    2
    <enter>
    <enter>
    w
    #this writes the partiton table. now to create filesystems#
    bt~# mkfsdos -F32 /dev/sdb1

    bt~#mkfs.ext3 /dev/sdb2

    Now copy the bt3 & boot folders to sdb1

    then run the bootinst.sh

    then make the changes directory on sdb2

    reboot

    done

  3. #3

    Default

    I all ready have install on my flash drive so I skipped the first part this is the error I get:

    bt ~ # mkfs.ext3 /dev/sdb2
    mke2fs 1.39 (29-May-2006)
    Could not stat /dev/sdb2 --- No such file or directory

    The device apparently does not exist; did you specify it correctly?
    bt ~ #
    Dell Inspiron E1705
    Geforce 7900 series graphics card
    2G of ram
    120G harddrive
    Dualcore

  4. #4
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    well you need to figure out what is your flash drive. I'm not psychic.

    do a

    bt~# cd /mnt
    bt~# ls

    and post the out put

    Plus in your first post you said you had not written a partiton table so of course sdb2 does not exist

  5. #5

    Default

    Is this what you wanted:
    bt ~ # cd /mnt
    bt mnt # ls
    floppy/ hdc/ live/ sda1/ sda2/ sda3/ sdb1/
    bt mnt #

    Thanks for the help.
    Dell Inspiron E1705
    Geforce 7900 series graphics card
    2G of ram
    120G harddrive
    Dualcore

  6. #6
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    You are going to have to start from the beginning of my instructions because sdb2 does not exist because you have not created it.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    204

    Default

    an easier solution would be to download the gparted live iso, then you can use the gui to configure your usb drive/s.

    I am using a 8gig usb stick wiht an ext3 partition created using the gparted livecd

  8. #8
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by merlin051 View Post
    an easier solution would be to download the gparted live iso, then you can use the gui to configure your usb drive/s.

    I am using a 8gig usb stick wiht an ext3 partition created using the gparted livecd
    I fail to see how downloading a whole new .iso and burning it would be any easier but i guess you could do it that way.

  9. #9
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    You could type those commands and be finished installing by the time you had downloaded gparted, and you would be booting BT before you even finished burning the iso.

  10. #10

    Default

    How do you resize sdb1 when I tried to make the sdb2 it sayed something about no room sry if I its not detailed enough thanks for the help guess I really mean it.
    Dell Inspiron E1705
    Geforce 7900 series graphics card
    2G of ram
    120G harddrive
    Dualcore

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •