Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: -=Solved=- Problem with atheros

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zero visual View Post
    worked like a charm...
    heres what i did
    -reinstalled BT3
    -kernel.lzm
    -Aircrack-ng update
    -Madwifi-0.9.3.3 update
    Im running a macbook 13.3"
    thanks for the help Xploitz.
    Your welcome.

    Thanks for reporting back. Sorry you had to reinstall BT3 though. Although the reinstall was not necessary, the end result was what you were looking for. So thats what counts.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  2. #12
    Junior Member halgorithm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    30

    Default

    These steps recommended by Xploitz worked like a charm - it's amazing how much Linux I'm remembering from running Slackware 9 a few years back.

    After the update I'm seeing 23 networks from my apartment. The scary part is that only 1/3rd are WPA...

  3. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    83

    Default

    [deleted response]

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    25

    Default

    while searching i found this thread after i read about someone updating their madwifi drivers.

    i use bt3 on my macbook but haven't had any real connection issues. however, i do have to usually type the command to enter a network twice for some strange reason.
    iwconfig ath0 essid thewaronYOU key 2c4c4c7cac

    it just usually doesnt associate the first time, and then magically the next time poof i am associated.

    so i thought maybe updating would be a good idea.

    I tried the code here on this thread and first it told me that WARNING:there are drivers installed and that it could cause problems in the operation and asked me if i wanted to remove them, SO I DID.

    then i redid the code, and got to the part where you type "make"
    and it told me that i need to set the kernelsource i believe.

    Im sorry, i cant copy paste becuz i ended up reinstalling bt3 (see below) so im just going off memory.

    After i got the kernalsource error stuff i went and downloaded the kernal.lzm and extracted it to root.
    once i did that i started getting a repetitive error about the sound driver being busy. i hadnt seen that before.

    then i redid the code to install the madwifi-0.9.3.3 and i do believe i got to the make part or so and it started to do some things then it said that the source drive was full and that was a fatal error.

    well that was just too many errors for me, there is no way my drive was full so something else was up.

    i bit it and just reinstalled b|t

    So i am sitting here wondering if I should reattempt this madwidfi update since my system doesnt really display bad ath0 symptoms. How much of an improvement i will get is a question.

    i feel like this post is retarded and i need to ask a solid question so,

    after trying the ./find-madwifi-modules.sh $(uname -r) command am i supposed to remove the files when it asks? is it supposed to ask? is "uname" really supposed to be "uname" or is it "root"? i used root the first time and got a bash error so i went with uname, maybe this is why it told me there were drivers there, since i had gotten halfway through....doubt it though.

  5. #15
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default Problem finding aircrack latest

    hi,

    i tried to follow this tutorial. But if i want to get (svn co trac.aircrack-ng.org/svn/branch/1.0-dev aircrack-ng) i see not found error. so what version should i install. same for madwifi driver.

    thx

  6. #16
    Junior Member lanwarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -=Xploitz=- View Post
    Its not a bug...its your drivers. I'm moving to BT3 general. Update your madwifi drivers to fix the internet reconnection issues.

    Have you even tried yo update your madwifi-ng drivers ?? Also wouldn't hurt to update your dev version of aircrack-ng to the newest version.



    MADWIFI DRIVERS version 0.9.3.3

    to install.....

    Code:
    ifconfig ath0 down
    ifconfig wifi0 down
    cd madwifi-0.9.3.3
    cd scripts
    ./madwifi-unload.bash
    ./find-madwifi-modules.sh $(uname -r)
    cd ..
    make
    make install
    modprobe ath_pci
    THATS IT!!

    I am using 0.9.4 and at the "./find-madwifi-modules.sh" it gives warning about some modules left from previous MadWifi installation and recommend me to remove it. I select "r" to remove.

    I then go to make and then make install. At make install, it gives me the SAME warning.

    I select "r" again.

    Afterwards, no error but I see NO WIFI exist when I type modprob ath_pci. I typed iwconfig and same thing. No wifi0, no ath0, etc.

    Please help!

    OK, I download version 0.9.3.3 and run the same command. This time, at the "find-madwifi..", it gives the same warning about removing old install.

    I did that.

    Then I continue until the "make install" command. This time, UNLIKE the 0.9.4 version, it did NOT ask me about removing previous driver. It went without a hitch.

    I run "modprobe ath_pci" and ... nothing. It just went straight to the prompt.

    I typed iwconfig, and no ath0 or wifi0

    I typed ifconfig ath0 up, and it said no such device.

    Am I missing something here?

    I checked the result of "make install" and I don't see any errors:

    Code:
    bt madwifi-0.9.3.3 # make install
    sh scripts/find-madwifi-modules.sh 2.6.21.5
    for i in ./ath ./ath_hal ./ath_rate ./net80211; do \
                    make -C $i install || exit 1; \
            done
    make[1]: Entering directory `/root/DOWNLOAD/madwifi-0.9.3.3/ath'
    test -d //lib/modules/2.6.21.5/net || mkdir -p //lib/modules/2.6.21.5/net
    install ath_pci.ko //lib/modules/2.6.21.5/net
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/DOWNLOAD/madwifi-0.9.3.3/ath'
    make[1]: Entering directory `/root/DOWNLOAD/madwifi-0.9.3.3/ath_hal'
    test -d //lib/modules/2.6.21.5/net || mkdir -p //lib/modules/2.6.21.5/net
    install ath_hal.ko //lib/modules/2.6.21.5/net
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/DOWNLOAD/madwifi-0.9.3.3/ath_hal'
    make[1]: Entering directory `/root/DOWNLOAD/madwifi-0.9.3.3/ath_rate'
    for i in amrr/ onoe/ sample/; do \
                    make -C $i install || exit 1; \
            done
    make[2]: Entering directory `/root/DOWNLOAD/madwifi-0.9.3.3/ath_rate/amrr'
    test -d //lib/modules/2.6.21.5/net || mkdir -p //lib/modules/2.6.21.5/net
    install ath_rate_amrr.ko //lib/modules/2.6.21.5/net
    make[2]: Leaving directory `/root/DOWNLOAD/madwifi-0.9.3.3/ath_rate/amrr'
    make[2]: Entering directory `/root/DOWNLOAD/madwifi-0.9.3.3/ath_rate/onoe'
    test -d //lib/modules/2.6.21.5/net || mkdir -p //lib/modules/2.6.21.5/net
    install ath_rate_onoe.ko //lib/modules/2.6.21.5/net
    make[2]: Leaving directory `/root/DOWNLOAD/madwifi-0.9.3.3/ath_rate/onoe'
    make[2]: Entering directory `/root/DOWNLOAD/madwifi-0.9.3.3/ath_rate/sample'
    test -d //lib/modules/2.6.21.5/net || mkdir -p //lib/modules/2.6.21.5/net
    install ath_rate_sample.ko //lib/modules/2.6.21.5/net
    make[2]: Leaving directory `/root/DOWNLOAD/madwifi-0.9.3.3/ath_rate/sample'
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/DOWNLOAD/madwifi-0.9.3.3/ath_rate'
    make[1]: Entering directory `/root/DOWNLOAD/madwifi-0.9.3.3/net80211'
    test -d //lib/modules/2.6.21.5/net || mkdir -p //lib/modules/2.6.21.5/net
    for i in wlan.o wlan_wep.o wlan_tkip.o wlan_ccmp.o wlan_acl.o wlan_xauth.o wlan_scan_sta.o wlan_scan_ap.o; do \
                    f=`basename $i .o`; \
                    install $f.ko //lib/modules/2.6.21.5/net; \
            done
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/DOWNLOAD/madwifi-0.9.3.3/net80211'
    (export KMODPATH=/lib/modules/2.6.21.5/net; /sbin/depmod -ae 2.6.21.5)
    make -C ./tools  install || exit 1
    make[1]: Entering directory `/root/DOWNLOAD/madwifi-0.9.3.3/tools'
    install -d /usr/local/bin
    for i in athstats 80211stats athkey athchans athctrl athdebug 80211debug wlanconfig; do \
                    install $i /usr/local/bin/$i; \
                    strip /usr/local/bin/$i; \
            done
    install -d /usr/local/man/man8
    install -m 0644 man/*.8 /usr/local/man/man8
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/DOWNLOAD/madwifi-0.9.3.3/tools'
    bt madwifi-0.9.3.3 #
    However, I noted that the ath_pci is not loaded:

    Code:
    bt etc # dmesg | grep ath
    md: multipath personality registered for level -4
    ath_hal: module license 'Proprietary' taints kernel.
    ath_hal: 0.9.18.0 (AR5210, AR5211, AR5212, RF5111, RF5112, RF2413, RF5413)
    ath_pci: 0.9.4.5 (0.9.3.3)
    ath_pci: driver unloaded
    ath_hal: driver unloaded
    ath_hal: 0.9.18.0 (AR5210, AR5211, AR5212, RF5111, RF5112, RF2413, RF5413)
    ath_pci: 0.9.4.5 (0.9.3.3)

  7. #17
    Junior Member lanwarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Can anyone help why suddenly the driver is not loaded with version 0.9.3.3?

    I checked MadWifi site and they have a step-by-step instructions, even showing that I need to press "r" to remove the old driver (which I did). I ensured that I followed the same process and still the WLAN card is not shown.

    I know the card exist and recognized by BT3 because it found during bootup and when I checked via KDE System Settings.

  8. #18
    Junior Member lanwarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    39

    Default

    OK, I tested this on 3 Eee PC(two 900 and one 901) and they both exhibit the same problem. So I am sure it the drivers or something else, not the PC or how I install it.

    I am reinstalling BT now.

    To anyone else, do not do the driver update because you'll lose your wifi for some reason.

    To other expert, if the above is incorrect, please post your thoughts on the problem.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •