Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28

Thread: Add external antenna tp-link WN610G

  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sognenovski View Post
    TP-Link TL-WN610G
    lspci: Atheros Communications, Inc. AR5212 802.11abg NIC (rev 01)
    Command: airodump-ng –c 6 ath0
    Internal Antenna: PWR No Network found RXQ No Network found
    External Antenna: PWR 1 RXQ 10
    External Antenna with Windsurfer: PWR 8 RXQ 100
    so TP-Link TL-WN610G with modify doesn't work fine...
    OMG

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    32

    Default

    I think I'll buy another pcmcia wireless card with external antenna too...
    Can you advise one in particular compatible with linux and aircrack that you know works fine? (on ebay)
    I found this: http ://cgi.ebay.de/Orinoco-Gold-PCMCIA-Wardriving-WLAN-Karte-2-4GHz-11Mb-s_W0QQitemZ230205643980QQihZ013QQcategoryZ32900QQs sPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

    tnx a lot!
    bye

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    32

    Default

    hey hey maybe i have found the problem of the modify for the tp-link... I have read an italian guide where explain that you can add an external antenna (cutting one of two internal antenna) but you must cut the other internal antenna too.
    If you use the external and internal antenna toghether the signal isn't ok... if u cut the internal antenna and only use the external the signal will be perfect!

    If you don't understand my bad english tell me and i'll try to explain again

  4. #14
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ciopper View Post
    I think I'll buy another pcmcia wireless card with external antenna too...
    Can you advise one in particular compatible with linux and aircrack that you know works fine? (on ebay)
    I found this: http ://cgi.ebay.de/Orinoco-Gold-PCMCIA-Wardriving-WLAN-Karte-2-4GHz-11Mb-s_W0QQitemZ230205643980QQihZ013QQcategoryZ32900QQs sPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

    tnx a lot!
    bye
    Looks identical to my Orinoco Classic Gold, tried everything known to google to set the card to monitor mode on BT2. dmesg displayed ‘Monitor mode support is buggy in this firmware, not enabling’. From what I read it required a firmware downgrade from 8.72 to 6.16, again no luck. Monitor Mode did work with Knoppix-STD however, from memory the card didn’t support injection (Hermes1 Chip). So I simply gave up. Err… I should try it on BT3, I’ll give it shot over the weekend.

    Before you stock up on aspirin take look here…
    http ://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=6471&highlight=orinoco

    If I had my time again, I would go for this…
    http ://cgi.ebay.de/Netgear-WPN511-RangeMax-WLAN-PCMCIA-Card-108-MBit-s_W0QQitemZ120195564402QQihZ002QQcategoryZ115510QQ rdZ1QQssPageNameZWD1VQQcmdZViewItem?_trksid=p1638. m118

    Looks like its in your part of world. You will need to do the external antenna mod on this one. Let me know if you go for it, I’ll post a jpg of mine with the mod.

    A word of warning, Netgear has bad bad habit of changing chips mid production on their models without any visible changes. Best check with the seller.

    Back of mine reads…
    NETGEAR RangeMax Wireless PC Card WPN511
    FCC ID: PY3WG511TV1H3
    CANADA ID: 4054A-WG511V13
    Made in China 272-10221-01

    Hope this helps.

  5. #15
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ciopper View Post
    If you use the external and internal antenna toghether the signal isn't ok... if u cut the internal antenna and only use the external the signal will be perfect!

    If you don't understand my bad english tell me and i'll try to explain again
    Sure I understand. Well, I just have to disable both internals and do the field test again.
    Stay tuned…posting back in a few hours with the results

  6. #16
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    8

    Default

    and the results are in...

    TP-Link TL-WN610G
    lspci: Atheros Communications, Inc. AR5212 802.11abg NIC (rev 01)
    Command: airodump-ng –c 6 ath0
    Internal Antenna: PWR N/A RXQ N/A
    External Antenna: PWR 10 RXQ 90
    External Antenna with Windsurfer: PWR 18 RXQ 100

    much, much better!

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sognenovski View Post
    and the results are in...

    TP-Link TL-WN610G
    lspci: Atheros Communications, Inc. AR5212 802.11abg NIC (rev 01)
    Command: airodump-ng –c 6 ath0
    Internal Antenna: PWR N/A RXQ N/A
    External Antenna: PWR 10 RXQ 90
    External Antenna with Windsurfer: PWR 18 RXQ 100

    much, much better!
    yuppiii!!! very gooddd!!!

    When i'll receive my components i'll try immediatly!

  8. #18
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    8

    Default

    ciopper, updated the jpg to reflect the changes.

    www .socomms.com/contrib/TL-WN610G.jpg

    I'll stop using mine as a paper weight...nice find, thx.

    Best
    Steve

  9. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sognenovski View Post
    ciopper, updated the jpg to reflect the changes.

    www .socomms.com/contrib/TL-WN610G.jpg

    I'll stop using mine as a paper weight...nice find, thx.

    Best
    Steve
    Thx to you!

  10. #20
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sognenovski View Post
    Your welcome, I made a small update to the jpg.
    - place some tape on the PCB behind the coax. This is to prevent any possible shorts.
    - use a small cable tie to hold the coax in place. Cable tie head to be locate internally. If the head is to big, melt it down with soldering iron tip.

    Use the same above link to view.

    Lots of luck!
    Cheers
    Steve

    PS: The same mod principle applies to the Netgear RangeMax WPN511, which I found to be a better performer all around compared to the TP-Link (same chip). If there is interest, I'll upload the jpg.

    I have just bought a Netgear RangeMax WPN511 and managed to open it without screwing up. But I have no idea of what and where to solder.Could you help with a pic please? (It seems I cannot download attached pics from here, could u put a link?)

    Regards

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •