Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Netdiscover failed

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    20

    Default Netdiscover failed

    USB version on boot DVD

    Running Netdiscover in the KDE manu failed, error message as below

    libnet_init() falied: unknown physical layer type 0x323

    Got to run on the path of

    /usr/local/sbin/netdiscover

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    229

    Default

    I just got the same thing - and i was pretty sure it worked yesterday.

  3. #3
    Senior Member PrairieFire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    705

    Default

    Ensure you have a connection interface up and running before using it and that error should disappear. There are currently no verified cases in which netdiscover does not work. If you continue to have problems post your computer details along with dmesg output.
    Μολὼν λαβέ - Great spirits encounter heavy opposition from mediocre minds.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    20

    Default

    I tried today again with my Ethernet Card, it works OK.
    I was on the Wireless when I had problem, I will double check again tonight, and post my update later. TKS!

  5. #5
    Senior Member PrairieFire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    705

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rousuca View Post
    I tried today again with my Ethernet Card, it works OK.
    I was on the Wireless when I had problem, I will double check again tonight, and post my update later. TKS!
    Nothing is wrong with Netdiscover, type:
    Code:
    netdiscover --help
    Μολὼν λαβέ - Great spirits encounter heavy opposition from mediocre minds.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Yes I agree with you, doesn't seem to be the problem of netdiscover.
    I have issue running other programs from time to time, such as cannot connect my Wireless AP with wpa_supplicant, got error messages and I can solved the issue with Live CD reboot, it seems that live CD boot up sometimes doesn't load up all the necessary drivers. And the ettercap, when I repeat "scan for hosts", I will get different hosts results each time. This doesn't happen on the BT2.

    My system is Toshiba Satellite M30, most of time I am on the wireless, but I will try the ethernet later, and give the feed back.

    dmesg is too long to post, but below is my wireless card info
    ipw2200: Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200/2915 Network Driver, 1.2.1dmprq
    ipw2200: Copyright(c) 2003-2006 Intel Corporation

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Ettercap works better on the Ethernet, I guess might be either the bandwidth issue or Wireless on-board chip issue.

    Live CD boot up sometimes shows error as below, but most of time is no problem.

    Error-KDesktop
    The process for the file protocol died unexpectedly

    Got same error on the Toshiba satellite M30 & Compaq nx9010, I found that error happen, most of time is on the Windows XP restart to LiveCD.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rousuca View Post
    USB version on boot DVD

    Running Netdiscover in the KDE manu failed, error message as below

    libnet_init() falied: unknown physical layer type 0x323

    Got to run on the path of

    /usr/local/sbin/netdiscover

    i have the same error... i'm on the wireless too and i use bt2.
    libnet_init() falied: unknown physical layer type 0x321

    only one difference is 0x321 with 0x323

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ciopper View Post
    i have the same error... i'm on the wireless too and i use bt2.
    libnet_init() falied: unknown physical layer type 0x321

    only one difference is 0x321 with 0x323
    I had tried with a pc connected to my router by ethernet and i didn't receive errors opening netdiscover...

  10. #10
    Senior Member PrairieFire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    705

    Default

    Since no one has mentioned even using command line parameters to troubleshoot netdiscover, here are some things to try:

    Code:
    -i device: your network device
    Code:
    #Scan a class C network, to see wich hosts are up
    netdiscover -i wlan0 -r 192.168.1.0/24
    
    #Scanning /16 network, trying to find online boexes
    netdiscover -i wlan0 -r 192.168.0.0/16
    
    #Scan a class A network, trying to find network addresses
    netdiscover -i wlan0 -r 10.0.0.0/8
    
    #Auto scan common networks
    netdiscover -i wlan0
    
    #Dont send arp requests, listen only
    netdiscover -i wlan0 -p
    Μολὼν λαβέ - Great spirits encounter heavy opposition from mediocre minds.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •