Thread: Pirana for BT4 or an equivalent tool available ?

Hybrid View

Just burned his ISO

Default Pirana for BT4 or an equivalent tool available ?

Hello all,

As a trainer, I need to use Pirana for a lab. The purpose is to send spam through a firewall and see how we can block it. So I have a note which explains how to configure BT3 with Pirana to do that. The problem is that - as far as I know - , Pirana is only available on BT3, not BT4. Furthermore, BT has to be installed on a VM. I have found BT4 in .vmx but not BT3 any more. So I need one of these 2 solutions :

- Find BT3 in vmware format (.vmx)
    - Find an analog tool of Pirana for BT4. I'm not really an expert in hacking tools that's why I've posted in "beginners forum". so it would be nice for me to have a tool that have a quite similar way of working than Pirana.

Thanks for all everybody, best regards.
    Last edited by Tchek; 02-02-2010 at 06:34 PM. Reason: make my post clearer

Default Re: Pirana for BT4 or an equivalent tool available ?

There is a vmware image available for download at backtrack-linux.org --> downloads. As for your other question, you'll have to wait for someone else, because I'm not really sure. You may want to ask in IRC (#backtrack-linux on freenode) too, might be quicker.

Just burned his ISO

Thanks Clutch. BT4 is available in .vmx http://backtrack-linux.org/downloads, but not BT3. About Pirana on BT4 or something else, you're probably right, I would probably have a quicker answer on IRC.

Quote Originally Posted by Tchek View Post
    - Find BT3 in vmware format (.vmx)
    Why not just install BT3 to vmware manually from the ISO image? It's not that hard to accomplish.

Quote Originally Posted by clutch View Post
    There is a vmware image available for download at backtrack-linux.org --> downloads.
    Yes, there is, but he specifically asked for a BT3 vmware image, and that doesn't seem to exist anymore.

Just burned his ISO