Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Kismet not working? (and wesside question)

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    229

    Default Kismet not working? (and wesside question)

    One of the strange things i've noticed is that in BT3b, Kismet just crashes out - it pops up the kismet window after device selection for a fraction of a second, then its gone... anyone know what i'm doing wrong?

    Also, for wesside, i can't seem to find an option which would target an ESSID, it just seems to get the one it picks up 1st.

  2. #2
    Junior Member imported_spudgunman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    78

    Default

    i have also been fighting this, just so you know your not alone.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    117

    Default

    for kismet you have to edit the config file in /usr/local/etc/kismet.conf and put in your source interface. as for wesside-ng, i cant get it to even work. its pretty buggy.

  4. #4
    Junior Member imported_spudgunman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    78

    Default

    dont know that I would say its buggy (its just config issues on the user part no bugs), i realized that the link in the kde was starting the auto-config script and that was messing up the changes I made. not sure why the auto-config isnt loading up my stuff as it should but all is well now.

    airmon-ng made me think of the error of the autoconfig

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default

    do you have the kismet.conf file correctly edited?

    do iwconfig to see the device alias (eth1, eth0, etc.)

    then:

    whereis kismet

    will show you the location of the kismet.conf

    then

    vim /usr/.../kismet.conf

    go to
    source = 'driver','device',somename
    eg..

    source = bcm43xx,eth1,broadcom (note, there can't be any spaces after the commas)

    then (push escape)

    :wq!

    to write and exit,

    as an aside, can someone tell me where the actual kismet readme file is in bt3? i was just using the one off the internet

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    117

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spudgunman View Post
    dont know that I would say its buggy (its just config issues on the user part no bugs), i realized that the link in the kde was starting the auto-config script and that was messing up the changes I made. not sure why the auto-config isnt loading up my stuff as it should but all is well now.

    airmon-ng made me think of the error of the autoconfig
    i dont think this is a configuration error, but if you know whats going on here help me out. http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=10400

  7. #7
    Junior Member imported_spudgunman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    78

    Default

    thought we were still talking about kismet, missed out on the wesside (im using a intel so i havent experenced the madwifi issues yet)

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,334

    Exclamation Please use correct forum when posting...

    MOVED

    Please use the appropriate sub-forum. This is a software issue, so the "Software related issues" sounds a likely candidate

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    17

    Default

    I haven't had any problems with either kismet or wesside-ng. On my beta-test laptop (i.e. 1.8GHz P4 M) it only took a paltry 11 minutes to crack 64 bit WEP. But, regardless it all seems to work... Running a Netgear WG511T and a Ubiquiti SRC 300mW -- both are Atheros.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    79

    Default

    For Wesside just use the -v option

    but I will say that prefer to do it manually as Wesside is very hit and miss on time taken.

    For me
    Quickest = 1:46mins
    Longest = 5:39 hrs and mins.

    Both were on the same AP (I also didn't change my password in between attempts)

    Its a Beta.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •