Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: How to get a monitor working in BT3

  1. #1
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default How to get a monitor working in BT3

    Some people have tried to get their monitor to work using xorg.conf file, and this has not helped them
    This is what helped me. As such it may or may not be any help to you.

    DISCLAIMER: Remember that if you use the information and something goes wrong don't come kicking and screaming on the forums!
    Remain calm and all can be fixed!

    You will also need some info before you start. You will need to know the horizontal and vertical sync ranges of your monitor, and the resolutions that it supports.
    You will also need information about your graphics card, the chipset and Internal DAC and memory on the card itself (you will need this info in kb and not mb as some cards display). How to find out this info is beyond the scope of this tutorial. Use google or the documents that came with the hardware.

    xorgconfig is a menu driven frontend that is similar to the slackware installer or any text based installer for that matter.
    It tells the X server to take a look at the card and setup the best initial configuration for it based on the info that it gathers.
    The generated /etc/X11/xorg.conf file should be a good starting point for most systems meaning that it should work out of the box.
    Sometimes this is not the case especially if you are using another monitor besides the one on the laptop itself.


    First we need to boot up the computer, once done logon as root.
    Next DON'T type startx or xconf but rather type in

    # xorgconfig
    this presents alot of info about the xorgconfig file. read it then hit enter to continue.
    next xorgconfig will ask you to verify you have set your path correctly. It should be fine where it is at so hit ENTER.

    Next the screen will change to show information about a using a mouse.
    I used option 1 auto to allow the OS to define the information about the mouse (which is a synaptics touch pad).
    More info is available at www.slackbook.org

    Next we get to the information about configuring your monitor.
    xorconfig should present you with information about the horizontal sync of your monitor

    NOTE: it is very important that you have/know the information before making any changes to this file.
    Using bad info could damage your hardware!!

    In the horizontal sync section it asks you to enter the sync range for your monitor. To start configuring your monitor press ENTER.
    You will see a list of monitor types - choose one of them. or your can choose option 11 and enter your own info.
    I chose 11 and used the info from my monitor documents.
    You have to input the range as Hertz (Hz).

    Next you need to specify the vertical sync range for your monitor. This should also be in the monitor's documents or on google.
    again you have several choices to use and of course option 5 which is to enter your own.
    Again I chose to use 5.

    Next xorgconfig will ask you to enter strings to identify the monitor type in the xorg.conf file.
    You can enter anything you want on these 3 lines or nothing at all just hit ENTER

    Next you are presented with a screen to configure your graphics card.
    You need to have some info about your card before you begin
    The screen will present you with a database of cards to choose from.

    NOTE: Slackbook says that if you don't see your exact card then you can choose one that is close (i.e. generic) from the list.
    however the xorgconfig tells you that you have to use an exact match.
    I chose to use the ATI Radeon (generic).
    Next you have to tell xorgconfig how much RAM you have on your card and insert some more descriptive text about your card. or you can just hit enter and leave the next three lines blank.

    Next your are asked which display resolutions you want to use.
    You can use the defaults to start out with or you can enter the info that you want ( Actually this should also come with your monitor documents)
    later on if the defaults don't work or you want to make changes than you can use the /ect/X11/xorg.conf file and rearrange the modes give so that the one you want is the default.

    At this point, the xorgconfig program will ask you if you'd like to save the current configuration file. Answer yes, and the X configuration file is saved, completing the process. You can now start X with the startx command.



    also mods if this is in the wrong spot please move this seemed like the most logical place, or if it needs some corrections.
    Thanks
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Is this for people that have a setup where

    iwconfig eth1 mode Monitor channel ##

    isn't working?

  3. #3
    Senior Member imported_spankdidly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,031

    Default

    lol, that's what I thought the thread was about at first too. But no, This is actually your SCREEN. Not monitor mode. Can you put your screen in monitor mode? Heh Heh Heh.
    I felt like bending the bars back, and ripping out the window frames and eating them. yes, eating them! Leaping, leaping, leaping! Colonics for everyone! All right! You dumb*sses. I'm a mental patient. I'm *supposed* to act out!

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Yeah I guess the title might have been misleading
    " How to get a monitor working in BT3 " should maybe read
    "How to get the monitor so you can see what you are doing working in BT3"
    lol


    At any rate I hope that someone finds the info helpful.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  5. #5
    Senior Member imported_spankdidly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,031

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by archangel.amael View Post
    Yeah I guess the title might have been misleading
    " How to get a monitor working in BT3 " should maybe read
    "How to get the monitor so you can see what you are doing working in BT3"
    lol


    At any rate I hope that someone finds the info helpful.
    lol, well with all the ESL and misspellings everywhere, you never know. I skimmed so fast over the top of it I had to go back and re-read the title again haha. I was like "Oh great, is there some crazy thing you have to do to get your card to monitor mode??"
    I felt like bending the bars back, and ripping out the window frames and eating them. yes, eating them! Leaping, leaping, leaping! Colonics for everyone! All right! You dumb*sses. I'm a mental patient. I'm *supposed* to act out!

  6. #6
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default

    Yes but will my monitor inject!!!!!!!

  7. #7
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pureh@te View Post
    Yes but will my monitor inject!!!!!!!
    Depends on how fast it's moving on impact.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    68

    Default



    Thanks for this post! Very nice, i had too laught much right now

    Very cool, try to setup my monitor into monitor mode and inject my AP with it - will be cool

  9. #9
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default

    Remote exploit rules from irc


    "rules" is (#1) Thou shalt not insult t3h cub3z, or (#2) BackTrack is perfect, its YOU who's dumb, or (#3) If you've found a bug, it's not a bug, it's user error, or (#4) everything injects, or (#5) no serious questions, or (#6) We do not know DVL

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Thanks Archangel .Amael
    for xorgconfig now i can turn bt3 on.
    it showed up on my monitor ( screen )
    thanks
    dunnn
    i'm new in linux

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •