Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Need help with Airodump???

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default Need help with Airodump???

    I am running Back track 3 beta from a cd. Kismet runs nice and finds different networks and packets are counting. But I don't know what to do next.

    I understand that I should use Airodump, but I can't figure out what to commands to type when I have started the program.

    Could someone please help me?

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    68

    Default

    Hello hjnan,

    what are you going to do? Cracking your AP? WEP or WPA?
    if you have searched through the forum you would find many tutorials about your next steps.

    Here is a link where a several tutorials are listed:

    http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=5601


    But as a small notice:

    You must dump the traffic of your wlan, reinject packets in the WLAN, maybe deauthenticate a station and crack the the key with your dump. Thats the four main steps your gonna to do.

    Good luck, but remember, only crack your own WLAN - all other is not legal!

  3. #3
    Senior Member PrairieFire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    705

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hjnan View Post
    I am running Back track 3 beta from a cd. Kismet runs nice and finds different networks and packets are counting. But I don't know what to do next.

    I understand that I should use Airodump, but I can't figure out what to commands to type when I have started the program.

    Could someone please help me?
    Best thing to do is read over the tutorials here.
    Μολὼν λαβέ - Great spirits encounter heavy opposition from mediocre minds.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Thanks you for answers. Yes, I am trying to hack my own AP with wep.

    This is what I have managed to come up with.

    Is this correct?

    Airodump-ng –c 6 –-bssid (insert MY AP mac) –w capture –-ivs wlan0

    Aireplay-ng -3 –b (MY AP mac) –h (mac for my computer) wlan0

    Aircrack-ng capture.ivs

    I managed to hack my wep 64 bits. Trying to hack a wep 128 bits now.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    55

    Default

    it is good to know the commands, but airoscript.sh automates all of it for you.

    run airoscript.sh. and play around with the various menus. Saves a LOT of time.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default

    When I use:
    Airodump-ng –c 6 –-bssid (insert MY AP mac) –w capture –-ivs wlan0

    Aireplay-ng -3 –b (MY AP mac) –h (mac for my computer) wlan0

    for 15 min it shows about 12 min it shows 2,8 million data packets in Airodump. When I run Aircrack, it only tells me that I have captured 68904 IVs.

    Why this low number? Sometimes it seems like it stops saving to my save file.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO HighPointSecurity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    23

    Default

    One reason for the difference in count is that not all of the packets are usable. It depends on the traffic on the hub. Try downloading a large file over the wireless network. You may get more usable packets ...

    At least that worked for me
    "Better a lie they can believe, than a truth they can't." George Smiley

  8. #8
    Member s1lang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    189

    Default

    I don't want to sound like I'm condesending, but you do realise it's the data column you look at and not the Baacon one, as I made this mistake when first using Airodump-ng

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •