Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 33

Thread: Installing BT3 beta in VMware Workstation 6 directly from the iso file

  1. #11
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    19

    Default

    When trying to run the configure tool. Il try again later and report the exact message.

  2. #12
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Excellent guide, I followed this and it worked perfectly. Thanks.

  3. #13
    Junior Member Headshot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Tested! Working Perfectly!
    Great Tutorial!

    (btw isn't this a tutorial?)
    01010111101001011101010101000010101010101
    10010100011010010010101010111010010111100
    ----------------
    Back|Track * Beginner :o

  4. #14
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Looks great and all... But aren't you limited to using USB WiFi cards if you
    were doing wifi pentesting?

  5. #15
    Senior Member PrairieFire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    705

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aix59 View Post
    Looks great and all... But aren't you limited to using USB WiFi cards if you
    were doing wifi pentesting?
    Yes, there are many more tools that do not require wifi in BackTrack.
    Μολὼν λαβέ - Great spirits encounter heavy opposition from mediocre minds.

  6. #16
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Yes, there are many more tools that do not require wifi in BackTrack.
    right, there's more in BackTrack and yes you are 'limited' to usb wifi cards. for me, this works almost fine. i'm only missing the injection feature with my zd1211rw ZyXEL usb-stick (hxxp://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=10241&page=2).

  7. #17
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sin_gage View Post
    Hi, first of all thanks to all the people who have made BT3 possible and waiting for BT3 final eagerly. Now before starting the installation make sure the MD5 checksum of the original and the downloaded BT3 iso file. Assuming that VMware Workstation installed lets move forward and install BT3.
    -First create a virtual machine with following configurations:-

    Now after the machine has been created click on the name of the virtual machine just created in the sidebar on the left side and then under command options click on Edit virtual machine settings. Click Cd rom and change the settings from Use physical drive to Use ISO image and click on browse to select the saved BT3 iso image and save the settings.
    -Now click o play button on the tool bar to run the Virtual machine and select any of the options from the boot menu.
    -After it has booted into BT3 open the Terminal window and use following commands.

    -Now go to Backtrack from the KDE menu and click on Install Backtrack
    Keep the configurations as follows:-

    Installation will hangs at 42% and 81% and it takes about 15 minutes or so to install completely.
    Then reboot the by selecting Logoff from KDE menu and voila BT3 is installed in VMware.
    enjoy...
    hey thanks lol it worked on Vmware server too, after changing the To EXT3

    Evil Monkey

    "Sharing is caring but caring is scaring"

  8. #18
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by si13nt View Post
    works also fine in VMware Fusion (MacBook Pro, Core 2 Duo).

    for the vmware tools:
    - Virtual Machine -> Install VMware Tools
    - mount the device (was hdc here) and extract the tar.gz file
    - get kernel sources from wiki.remote-exploit.org and extract them to /usr/src/linux/
    - use the installer script 'vmware-install.pl'

    the vmware tools scripts under /etc/vmware-tools wont work properly. for now, i've disabled the execution of these script in the vmware toolbox until i've got them working. will post news here.
    is it working with inbuild Extreme card? I have Macbook c2d with atheros 0x168c:087 card and after instalation of VMware Tools iwconfig shows nothing ... no wireles extenstion.
    tryed modprobe ath_pci, bud still nothing .. it shows after dmesg ath_pci tained kernel. im stuck..

    does it working on your inbuild card with VMware and BT3?

  9. #19
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    8

    Default

    nope, you need an usb-dongle for wlan stuff.

  10. #20
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default VMWare on Macbook with Fusion

    Hi Guys,

    Thanks for the tutorial, it worked great for me included installing VMWare tools. There were a few issues I hit, and I thought I might as well share them and how I found a solution.

    I'm using VMWare Fusion 1.1.1 on a Macbook.

    fdisk runs a check on every reboot. - I fixed this by rather than creating ext2 partitions, I changed this to ext3. No more fdisk.

    Vmware tools installed fine, I think the only dir change needed was for the init.d scripts. The only thing that doesn't work is the vmhgfs drivers which allows you to share files. I fixed this by;

    1. Extract the VMWare tools tar.gz
    2. cd ~/vmware-tools-distrib
    3. untar lib/modules/source/vmhgfs.tar
    4. edit vmhgfs-only/compact_slab.h
    5. Change the following lines

    if LINUX_VERSION_CODE <
    KERNEL_VERSION(2, 6, 22) ||
    defined(VMW_KMEMCR_HAS_DTOR)

    with

    if LINUX_VERSION_CODE <=
    KERNEL_VERSION(2, 6, 22) ||
    defined(VMW_KMEMCR_HAS_DTOR)

    6. re-tar vmhgfs-only as vmhgfs.tar and replace the original in /lib/modules/source/vmhgfs.tar
    7. run sudo vmware-config-tools.pl

    Hope that helps

    Craig

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •