Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Realtek ID 268 sound chipset

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3

    Default Realtek ID 268 sound chipset [Solved]

    Hi,
    This integrated audio chipset is used a lot on newer laptops but requires the latest alsa-driver-1.0.15 to work.
    BT3beta has 1.0.14.

    Greets.

  2. #2
    zarraza
    Guest

    Default

    realtek hd here... no sound tho.

    edit: found solution... and it actually made me say "wow".

    I was playing around with adding applets to the panel, and added sound mixer. Problem was all settings were set to mute/low by default lol.... So just raised bars... and everything works fine hahahah

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3

    Default Solved

    HI,
    @Zarraza: You probably don't have realtek 268 but some other version.

    I got sound working on the laptop. Here's what i did:

    1) I created an alsa-driver-1.0.15 driver module from source and put it into /modules directory on the stick and rebooted.
    2) I had to modprobe -r snd_hda_intel and then modprobe snd_hda_intel model=acer
    3) I launched Kmix and raised the volume.

    Bye.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    9

    Exclamation

    I tried doing the following:
    Code:
    wget ftp://ftp.alsa-project.org/pub/driver/alsa-driver-1.0.15.tar.bz2
    tar xvpjf alsa-driver-1.0.15.tar.bz2
    cd alsa-driver-1.0.15
    ./configure --with-cards=hda-intel
    make
    sudo make install
    but after I executed ./configure --with-cards=hda-intel
    I got the following error:
    Code:
    checking for gcc... gcc
    checking for C compiler default output file name... a.out
    checking whether the C compiler works... yes
    checking whether we are cross compiling... no
    checking for suffix of executables...
    checking for suffix of object files... o
    checking whether we are using the GNU C compiler... yes
    checking whether gcc accepts -g... yes
    checking for gcc option to accept ISO C89... none needed
    checking for ranlib... ranlib
    checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/ginstall -c
    checking how to run the C preprocessor... gcc -E
    checking for grep that handles long lines and -e... /usr/bin/grep
    checking for egrep... /usr/bin/grep -E
    checking for ANSI C header files... yes
    checking for an ANSI C-conforming const... yes
    checking for inline... inline
    checking whether time.h and sys/time.h may both be included... yes
    checking whether gcc needs -traditional... no
    checking for current directory... /root/alsa-driver-1.0.15
    checking cross compile...
    checking for directory with kernel source... /lib/modules/2.6.21.5/source
    checking for directory with kernel build... /lib/modules/2.6.21.5/build
    checking for kernel linux/version.h... no
    The file /lib/modules/2.6.21.5/source/include/linux/version.h does not exist.
    Please install the package with full kernel sources for your distribution
    or use --with-kernel=dir option to specify another directory with kernel
    sources (default is /lib/modules/2.6.21.5/source).

    How can i fix this?

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    does anyone have any suggestions?

  6. #6
    Senior Member imported_spankdidly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,031

    Default

    Not sure, but is there a reason you need sound? I was running BT for a long time and then read a thread about Someone having no sound, then I realized I didn't either. Maybe I use it for different things I guess. I actually dont mind not having sound. I dont have to hear the Kismet

    Beeeep
    Beeeep
    Beeeep
    *Siren's*
    Beeeep


    Yes, I know how to disable the sounds in the Conf. Lol.
    I felt like bending the bars back, and ripping out the window frames and eating them. yes, eating them! Leaping, leaping, leaping! Colonics for everyone! All right! You dumb*sses. I'm a mental patient. I'm *supposed* to act out!

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bishop View Post
    HI,
    @Zarraza: You probably don't have realtek 268 but some other version.

    I got sound working on the laptop. Here's what i did:

    1) I created an alsa-driver-1.0.15 driver module from source and put it into /modules directory on the stick and rebooted.
    2) I had to modprobe -r snd_hda_intel and then modprobe snd_hda_intel model=acer
    3) I launched Kmix and raised the volume.

    Bye.
    Hi Bishop.

    I download the driver alsa-driver-1.0.15.tar.bz2 and I created driver module and put it into /BT3/modules of my stick.
    When I start Backtrack 3 the new alsa module is loaded but then I don't know the next step.

    Can I help me, please?

    Sorry, but I'm a newbie in linux.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •