Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 41

Thread: Creating BT3 DVD

  1. #11
    zarraza
    Guest

    Default

    ok one more time ....

    1) START
    2) RUN
    3) type cmd
    4)black box pops out (also known as windows prompt)
    5) go to the place where make_iso.bat is. So that would be
    a) cd User
    b) cd Marten
    c) cd Desktop
    d) cd bt3b141207
    e) cd BT3
    6) make_iso.bat c:\target.iso or whatever you like... maybe d:\bt3.iso . Thats up to you.
    7) just wait until it finishes.
    8) use .iso for vmware or burning cd/dvd.

  2. #12
    Junior Member imported_soultaker666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    73

    Default

    For some reason after following the instructions I keep getting the error "cannot find specified path".
    The key to immortality is first living a life worth remembering.

  3. #13
    zarraza
    Guest

    Default

    honestly im mad tired. if my directions r not workin then i dont know who can help u guys. U must be doin sometin wrong. Its mad simple....
    just use command prompt.... go where .bat is and then type "make_iso.bat C:\whatever_u_like".

  4. #14
    Junior Member imported_soultaker666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    73

    Default

    This is exactly what I do run--->cmd--->cd users\(name of user)\desktop\BT3---->(It is now in the BT3 directory)--->make_iso.bat c:\BT3.iso--->"The system cannot find the path specified. New ISO should be created now. Press any key to continue.". I am doing everything that is written above but it is not working.
    The key to immortality is first living a life worth remembering.

  5. #15
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by soultaker666 View Post
    This is exactly what I do run--->cmd--->cd users\(name of user)\desktop\BT3---->(It is now in the BT3 directory)--->make_iso.bat c:\BT3.iso--->"The system cannot find the path specified. New ISO should be created now. Press any key to continue.". I am doing everything that is written above but it is not working.
    Check the wiki soultaker there is a note about a line change in the .bat file. I made mine in linux and it worked fine if you do it that way using the .sh script instead.

  6. #16
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I changed the line in the make_iso.bat but I get another problem:

    C:\bt3b141207\BT3>make_iso.bat c:\bt3.iso
    mkisofs 2.01 (i686-pc-cygwin)
    BT3/tools/WIN/mkisofs: Missing pathspec.
    Usage: mkisofs [options] file...

    Use mkisofs -help
    to get a list of valid options.

    New ISO should be created now.
    Press any key to continue . . .

    Any ideas?

  7. #17
    Member alacrityathome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    248

    Default

    Thanks Purehate for the solution.......run in Linux.

    That worked for me.

    I wonder how some got the make_iso.bat to work in the Windows mode without editing the bat file?

    Alacrity

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    76

    Default You get those problems.. i get this

    C:\Users\phox\Desktop\bt3b141207\BT3>make_iso.bat c:\bt3.iso
    mkisofs 2.01 (i686-pc-cygwin)
    Scanning .
    Scanning ./boot
    Scanning ./boot/dos
    Scanning ./boot/isolinux
    Excluded by match: ./boot/isolinux/isolinux.boot
    Scanning ./boot/modules
    Scanning ./boot/syslinux
    Scanning ./BT3
    Scanning ./BT3/base
    Scanning ./BT3/modules
    Scanning ./BT3/optional
    Scanning ./BT3/rootcopy
    Scanning ./BT3/tools
    Scanning ./BT3/tools/WIN
    bt3/tools/WIN/mkisofs: Permission denied. Unable to open disc image file

  9. #19
    Junior Member imported_spudgunman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    78

    Default

    i did an edit to the batch file that will be a little more generic for people.

    make sure your directory tree looks like this...

    \BT
    ..\make_iso.bat
    \boot



    if your having issues with DVD building using the make_iso.bat then try this batchfile to see if you can figure it out. If you have video issues (run to black) or failure. try booting to text mode first (one of the last options in grub) boot to text then startx

    Code:
    @ECHO OFF
    
    REM  ----------------------------------------------------
    REM  Batch file to create bootable ISO in Windows
    REM  usage: make_iso.bat c:\new-slax.iso
    REM  author: Tomas M. <had to pull cant post links>
    REM  ----------------------------------------------------
    
    if "%1"=="" goto error1
    cd..
    set CDLABEL=SLAX
    
    bt3\tools\WIN\mkisofs.exe -v -J -R -D -no-emul-boot -boot-info-table -boot-load-size 4 -b "boot/isolinux/isolinux.bin" -c "boot/isolinux/isolinux.boot" -o "%1" -A "%CDLABEL%" -V "%CDLABEL%" .
    goto theend
    
    :error1
    echo A parameter is required - target ISO file.
    echo Example: %0 c:\target.iso
    goto theend
    
    :error2
    echo Can't recreate isolinux.bin, make sure your current directory is writable!
    goto theend
    
    :theend
    echo.
    echo New ISO should be created now.
    pause

  10. #20
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default

    i just managed to make mine and in windows

    i had to edit my make_iso.bat in notepad and where it says

    Slax\tools\WIN\mkisofs.exe @Slax\tools\WIN\config ...

    i changed it to

    BT3\tools\WIN\mkisofs.exe @BT3\tools\WIN\config

    and it worked

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •