Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: AR5211 How do i Set up

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default AR5211 How do i Set up

    Hey people i recently brought a Atheros pci card which has a ar5211 chipset i ran bt2 as normal however it apperas as two adapters wifi0 and ath0 i tried
    ifconfig ath0 up
    iwconfig ath0 mode monitor

    and it woudlnt go into montiro mode and mentionewd it didnt support injection either so i tried
    ifconfig wifi0 up
    iwconfig aifi0 mode monitor

    and still the same prolems so y is there two showin and wat do i do to get it to monitor i have heard it does inject and work with aireapay i have googled and gone round in circles so your professional opinoin would be most appreciated thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default AR5211 How do i Set up

    also do i have to install bt2 to be able to patch drivers as i have a zydas 1211 also which runs ok in monitor mode just but watever when i try a arp replay i can only get 8 ivs doesnt amtter how many arp replays i get 100- 200 stil 8 ivs anyone know y this is lol thanks and sorry for two in one i got a lot of questions buggin me and i am new to linux famous words of a lost soul lol

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    I merged your threads. Do not double post threads again. Use 1 (ONE) thread for your questions pertaining to your topic. Don't make another thread, just make another post if necessary.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    does anyone know wat i have to do to get a atheros pci adapter to monitor in bt2 it has a ar5211 chipset innit and i heard this thing can inject even i do this from start
    ifconfig ath0 up
    iwconfig ath0 mode monitor
    which doesnt work and deosnt support injection either seems ai cant get anythign to work on this one
    then there is also wifi0
    ifconfig wifi0 up
    iwconfig wifi mode monitor
    doesnt support that either so y deos it show to adapters wifi0 and ath0 just for one adapter ????? your feed back would be really appreciated i have googled to no avail i came here cos i know someone would know more thanks in advance

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    sorry for that i thought i had deleted it oops dont suppose u have any suggestions to my question do yah ??

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by D@nger View Post
    sorry for that i thought i had deleted it oops dont suppose u have any suggestions to my question do yah ??
    The Atheros AR5211 does work. Try these steps for monitor mode>>>

    airmon-ng stop ath0
    airmon-ng start wifi0
    airodump-ng ath0


    ath0 is a child of wifi0...we monitor with ath0 but need to create a child from wifi0. Its the only device you have to do these additional steps with.....but its also the best device IMHO (an Atheros that is. )
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    916

    Default

    There is a manual way to do this and its documented from the driver's page:
    http://madwifi.org/wiki/UserDocs/MonitorModeInterface

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    73

    Default

    I have an Orinoco Silver card that has a AR5211 that I have had no success with injecting packets. I can associate properly with the access point but, when it comes to injecting an ARP request or any other attack with aireplay-ng I have had no success. I have also had other issues using the madwifi-ng drivers with this device. Every now and then 'iwlist' show a xmit value of 0dBm. In which I am unable to connect to my AP. Any other info or input on this subject would be greatly appreciated. I've been fighting this battle for some time now. Though my lack of programming skills holds me back

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    916

    Default

    Could it be that you don't have antenna connected, maybe a weak antenna or facing in wrong direction?

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2

    Default

    airmon-ng start wifi0
    "airodump-ng ath0" --> airodump-ng ath1

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •