Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: INstalling rt61

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    68

    Default INstalling rt61

    After i install my driver do i have to reboot backtrack for it to take effect? because when i run airmon-ng it still says unknow chipset and unknow driverand i am working on installing it on my harddrive.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    218

    Default

    rt61 is already installed on BT2.

    If it's not loading, try modprobe rt61

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    68

    Default

    when i do modprobe rt61 nothing happens no message whatsoever

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    218

    Default

    Try this:

    lsmod | grep rt61

    It should be there.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    68

    Default

    ok thanks ill try that
    i tried that and it says rt61 255686 0
    but when i use airmon-ng start ra0 it still says uknow driver and unknow chipset and i did this after i manually installed the driver from serial monkey

  6. #6
    Jenkem Addict imported_wyze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,543

    Default

    3 things come to mind...

    1) make sure its ra0 and not rausb0 and
    2) make sure the bin file is in the correct directory
    3) reboot and then modprobe and also ifconfig -a
    dd if=/dev/swc666 of=/dev/wyze

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    68

    Default

    does it have to be a hdd install for it to work?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,334

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by psp219 View Post
    when I do modprobe rt61 nothing happens no message whatsoever
    JFYI: There won't be a message of any kind if it loads the module successfully.

  9. #9
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    if you want to see if successful

    modprobe -v driver

    bt ~ # modprobe -v rt61
    insmod /lib/modules/2.6.20-BT-PwnSauce-NOSMP/extra/rt61.ko
    bt ~ #

    if you see this you are good

    ifconfig ra0 up
    don't use airmon-ng with rt61as there's pb with chipset detection
    do it by hand

    iwconfig rt61 mode monitor channel X rate 1M
    iwpriv ra0 rfmontx 1
    iwpriv ra0 forceprism 1

    aireplay-ng --test ra0

    remeber that if you are in live install you need to build a module or you will need to do it at each reboot

    a startup script can be the solution
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    68

    Default

    i built and used make install but when i use modprobe -v driver it says FATAL: No module found i think thats the problem

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •